Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
To: Stefano Garzarella <sgarzare@redhat.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>, Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>, Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>,
	io-uring@vger.kernel.org,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 0/3] io_uring: add restrictions to support untrusted applications and guests
Date: Fri, 10 Jul 2020 11:33:09 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200710153309.GA4699@char.us.oracle.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200710141945.129329-1-sgarzare@redhat.com>

.snip..
> Just to recap the proposal, the idea is to add some restrictions to the
> operations (sqe, register, fixed file) to safely allow untrusted applications
> or guests to use io_uring queues.

Hi!

This is neat and quite cool - but one thing that keeps nagging me is
what how much overhead does this cut from the existing setup when you use
virtio (with guests obviously)? That is from a high level view the
beaty of io_uring being passed in the guest is you don't have the
virtio ring -> io_uring processing, right?

Thanks!

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-07-10 15:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-10 14:19 Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-10 14:19 ` [PATCH RFC 1/3] io_uring: use an enumeration for io_uring_register(2) opcodes Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-10 14:19 ` [PATCH RFC 2/3] io_uring: add IOURING_REGISTER_RESTRICTIONS opcode Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-10 17:52   ` Jens Axboe
2020-07-13  8:07     ` Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-10 14:19 ` [PATCH RFC 3/3] io_uring: allow disabling rings during the creation Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-10 15:33 ` Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk [this message]
2020-07-10 16:20   ` [PATCH RFC 0/3] io_uring: add restrictions to support untrusted applications and guests Stefano Garzarella
2020-07-13  9:24     ` Stefan Hajnoczi

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200710153309.GA4699@char.us.oracle.com \
    --to=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=io-uring@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jmoyer@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=sargun@sargun.me \
    --cc=sgarzare@redhat.com \
    --cc=stefanha@redhat.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH RFC 0/3] io_uring: add restrictions to support untrusted applications and guests' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).