Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
To: Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>
Cc: "Christian Brauner" <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	"Eric Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	"Pavel Emelyanov" <ovzxemul@gmail.com>,
	"Oleg Nesterov" <oleg@redhat.com>,
	"Dmitry Safonov" <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>,
	"Andrei Vagin" <avagin@gmail.com>,
	"Nicolas Viennot" <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>,
	"Michał Cłapiński" <mclapinski@google.com>,
	"Kamil Yurtsever" <kyurtsever@google.com>,
	"Dirk Petersen" <dipeit@gmail.com>,
	"Christine Flood" <chf@redhat.com>,
	"Casey Schaufler" <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Radostin Stoyanov" <rstoyanov1@gmail.com>,
	"Cyrill Gorcunov" <gorcunov@openvz.org>,
	"Serge Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	"Stephen Smalley" <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>,
	"Sargun Dhillon" <sargun@sargun.me>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, selinux@vger.kernel.org,
	"Eric Paris" <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	"Jann Horn" <jannh@google.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 6/7] prctl: exe link permission error changed from -EINVAL to -EPERM
Date: Sun, 19 Jul 2020 12:05:45 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200719170545.GB3936@mail.hallyn.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200719100418.2112740-7-areber@redhat.com>

On Sun, Jul 19, 2020 at 12:04:16PM +0200, Adrian Reber wrote:
> From: Nicolas Viennot <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>
> 
> This brings consistency with the rest of the prctl() syscall where
> -EPERM is returned when failing a capability check.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Nicolas Viennot <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>
> Signed-off-by: Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>

Ok, i see how EINVAL snuck its way in there through validate_prctl_map()s
evolution :)

Reviewed-by: Serge Hallyn <serge@hallyn.com>

> ---
>  kernel/sys.c | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/kernel/sys.c b/kernel/sys.c
> index a3f4ef0bbda3..ca11af9d815d 100644
> --- a/kernel/sys.c
> +++ b/kernel/sys.c
> @@ -2015,7 +2015,7 @@ static int prctl_set_mm_map(int opt, const void __user *addr, unsigned long data
>  		 * This may have implications in the tomoyo subsystem.
>  		 */
>  		if (!checkpoint_restore_ns_capable(current_user_ns()))
> -			return -EINVAL;
> +			return -EPERM;
>  
>  		error = prctl_set_mm_exe_file(mm, prctl_map.exe_fd);
>  		if (error)
> -- 
> 2.26.2

  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-19 17:05 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-19 10:04 [PATCH v6 0/7] capabilities: Introduce CAP_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 1/7] " Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 2/7] pid: use checkpoint_restore_ns_capable() for set_tid Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 3/7] pid_namespace: use checkpoint_restore_ns_capable() for ns_last_pid Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 4/7] proc: allow access in init userns for map_files with CAP_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 16:50   ` Serge E. Hallyn
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 5/7] prctl: Allow local CAP_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE to change /proc/self/exe Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 6/7] prctl: exe link permission error changed from -EINVAL to -EPERM Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 17:05   ` Serge E. Hallyn [this message]
2020-07-19 10:04 ` [PATCH v6 7/7] selftests: add clone3() CAP_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE test Adrian Reber
2020-07-19 18:17 ` [PATCH v6 0/7] capabilities: Introduce CAP_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE Christian Brauner
2020-07-20 11:54   ` Christian Brauner
2020-07-20 12:46     ` Adrian Reber
2020-07-20 12:58       ` Christian Brauner

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200719170545.GB3936@mail.hallyn.com \
    --to=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=0x7f454c46@gmail.com \
    --cc=Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com \
    --cc=areber@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=avagin@gmail.com \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=chf@redhat.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=dipeit@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=gorcunov@openvz.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=kyurtsever@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mclapinski@google.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=ovzxemul@gmail.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rstoyanov1@gmail.com \
    --cc=sargun@sargun.me \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 6/7] prctl: exe link permission error changed from -EINVAL to -EPERM' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).