Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@arm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com>,
	Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>,
	Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>,
	Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@matbug.net>,
	Pavan Kondeti <pkondeti@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/3] sched/uclamp: Add a new sysctl to control RT default boost value
Date: Fri, 24 Jul 2020 10:54:05 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200724085405.GW10769@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200716110347.19553-2-qais.yousef@arm.com>

On Thu, Jul 16, 2020 at 12:03:45PM +0100, Qais Yousef wrote:

Would you mind terribly if I rename things like so?

I tried and failed to come up with a shorter name in general, these
functions names are somewhat unwieldy. I considered s/_default//.

---
--- a/kernel/sched/core.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/core.c
@@ -914,7 +914,7 @@ unsigned int uclamp_rq_max_value(struct
 	return uclamp_idle_value(rq, clamp_id, clamp_value);
 }
 
-static void __uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default_locked(struct task_struct *p)
+static void __uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(struct task_struct *p)
 {
 	unsigned int default_util_min;
 	struct uclamp_se *uc_se;
@@ -931,7 +931,7 @@ static void __uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_de
 	uclamp_se_set(uc_se, default_util_min, false);
 }
 
-static void __uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default(struct task_struct *p)
+static void uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(struct task_struct *p)
 {
 	struct rq_flags rf;
 	struct rq *rq;
@@ -941,7 +941,7 @@ static void __uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_de
 
 	/* Protect updates to p->uclamp_* */
 	rq = task_rq_lock(p, &rf);
-	__uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default_locked(p);
+	__uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(p);
 	task_rq_unlock(rq, p, &rf);
 }
 
@@ -968,7 +968,7 @@ static void uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_defa
 
 	rcu_read_lock();
 	for_each_process_thread(g, p)
-		__uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default(p);
+		uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(p);
 	rcu_read_unlock();
 }
 
@@ -1360,7 +1360,7 @@ static void __setscheduler_uclamp(struct
 		 * at runtime.
 		 */
 		if (unlikely(rt_task(p) && clamp_id == UCLAMP_MIN))
-			__uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default_locked(p);
+			__uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(p);
 		else
 			uclamp_se_set(uc_se, uclamp_none(clamp_id), false);
 
@@ -1404,7 +1404,7 @@ static void uclamp_fork(struct task_stru
 
 static void uclamp_post_fork(struct task_struct *p)
 {
-	__uclamp_sync_util_min_rt_default(p);
+	uclamp_update_util_min_rt_default(p);
 }
 
 static void __init init_uclamp_rq(struct rq *rq)

  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-24  8:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-16 11:03 [PATCH v7 0/3] sched/uclamp: new sysctl for default RT " Qais Yousef
2020-07-16 11:03 ` [PATCH v7 1/3] sched/uclamp: Add a new sysctl to control RT default " Qais Yousef
2020-07-24  8:54   ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2020-07-24  9:16     ` Qais Yousef
2020-07-16 11:03 ` [PATCH v7 2/3] Documentation/sysctl: Document uclamp sysctl knobs Qais Yousef

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200724085405.GW10769@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=patrick.bellasi@matbug.net \
    --cc=pkondeti@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=qais.yousef@arm.com \
    --cc=qperret@google.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=yzaikin@google.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 1/3] sched/uclamp: Add a new sysctl to control RT default boost value' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).