Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
To: Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>,
	Ioannis Ilkos <ilkos@google.com>,
	John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	kernel-team@android.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] fs: Add fd_install file operation
Date: Mon, 3 Aug 2020 23:18:54 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200803221854.GH1236603@ZenIV.linux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200803144719.3184138-2-kaleshsingh@google.com>

On Mon, Aug 03, 2020 at 02:47:18PM +0000, Kalesh Singh wrote:
> Provides a per process hook for the acquisition of file descriptors,
> despite the method used to obtain the descriptor.

No, with the side of Fuck, No.

Driver has no possible reason to watch know the descriptors involved.
Moreover, it has no possible way to track that information _and_
no locking that could make that viable.

NAKed with extreme prejudice - never bring that idea back.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-08-03 22:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-03 14:47 [PATCH 0/2] Per process tracking of dma buffers Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 14:47 ` [PATCH 1/2] fs: Add fd_install file operation Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 16:34   ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-08-03 18:26     ` Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 22:18   ` Al Viro [this message]
2020-08-04  0:30   ` Joel Fernandes
2020-08-04 13:54     ` Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 14:47 ` [PATCH 2/2] dmabuf/tracing: Add dma-buf trace events Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 15:32   ` Steven Rostedt
2020-08-03 16:33     ` Kalesh Singh
2020-08-03 15:41   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-08-03 16:00     ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2020-08-03 16:12       ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-08-03 16:22         ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2020-08-03 22:28           ` Al Viro
2020-08-04  1:09             ` Al Viro
2020-08-04  2:10               ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2020-08-04 15:44               ` Kalesh Singh
2020-08-04 18:27                 ` Al Viro
2020-08-04 20:42                   ` Kalesh Singh
2020-08-04 20:26             ` Daniel Vetter

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200803221854.GH1236603@ZenIV.linux.org.uk \
    --to=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=hridya@google.com \
    --cc=ilkos@google.com \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=kaleshsingh@google.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/2] fs: Add fd_install file operation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).