Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
To: Dan Schatzberg <schatzberg.dan@gmail.com>,
	Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>,
	Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>,
	Chris Down <chris@chrisdown.name>,
	Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>,
	"open list:BLOCK LAYER" <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:FILESYSTEMS (VFS and infrastructure)" 
	<linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:CONTROL GROUP (CGROUP)" <cgroups@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:CONTROL GROUP - MEMORY RESOURCE CONTROLLER (MEMCG)" 
	<linux-mm@kvack.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 0/4] Charge loop device i/o to issuing cgroup
Date: Fri, 21 Aug 2020 09:08:16 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <9b55ca3d-cca5-50ae-4085-5a1866f77308@kernel.dk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200821150405.GA4137@dschatzberg-fedora-PC0Y6AEN.dhcp.thefacebook.com>

On 8/21/20 9:04 AM, Dan Schatzberg wrote:
> On Thu, Aug 20, 2020 at 10:06:44AM -0700, Shakeel Butt wrote:
>> On Thu, May 28, 2020 at 6:55 AM Dan Schatzberg <schatzberg.dan@gmail.com> wrote:
>>>
>>> Much of the discussion about this has died down. There's been a
>>> concern raised that we could generalize infrastructure across loop,
>>> md, etc. This may be possible, in the future, but it isn't clear to me
>>> how this would look like. I'm inclined to fix the existing issue with
>>> loop devices now (this is a problem we hit at FB) and address
>>> consolidation with other cases if and when those need to be addressed.
>>>
>>
>> What's the status of this series?
> 
> Thanks for reminding me about this. I haven't got any further
> feedback. I'll bug Jens to take a look and see if he has any concerns
> and if not send a rebased version.

No immediate concerns, I think rebasing and sending one against the
current tree is probably a good idea. Then we can hopefully get it
queued up for 5.10.

-- 
Jens Axboe


  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-21 15:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-28 13:54 Dan Schatzberg
2020-05-28 13:54 ` [PATCH 1/4] loop: Use worker per cgroup instead of kworker Dan Schatzberg
2020-05-28 13:54 ` [PATCH 2/4] mm: support nesting memalloc_use_memcg() Dan Schatzberg
2020-05-28 13:54 ` [PATCH 3/4] mm: Charge active memcg when no mm is set Dan Schatzberg
2020-05-28 13:54 ` [PATCH 4/4] loop: Charge i/o to mem and blk cg Dan Schatzberg
2020-08-20 17:06 ` [PATCH v6 0/4] Charge loop device i/o to issuing cgroup Shakeel Butt
2020-08-21 15:04   ` Dan Schatzberg
2020-08-21 15:08     ` Jens Axboe [this message]
2020-08-21 16:01     ` Roman Gushchin
2020-08-21 16:27       ` Shakeel Butt
2020-08-21 20:05         ` Roman Gushchin
2020-08-21 20:23           ` Shakeel Butt

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=9b55ca3d-cca5-50ae-4085-5a1866f77308@kernel.dk \
    --to=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=aarcange@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=amir73il@gmail.com \
    --cc=cgroups@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=chris@chrisdown.name \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=lizefan@huawei.com \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=schatzberg.dan@gmail.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=vdavydov.dev@gmail.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 0/4] Charge loop device i/o to issuing cgroup' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).