Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com>
To: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	Eric Paris <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	Daniel Colascione <dancol@dancol.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Cedeno <thomascedeno@google.com>,
	Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	Aaron Goidel <acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>,
	Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>,
	Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM List <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	SElinux list <selinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>,
	Calin Juravle <calin@google.com>,
	Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Nick Kralevich <nnk@google.com>,
	Jeffrey Vander Stoep <jeffv@google.com>,
	kernel-team@android.com, Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 1/3] Add a new LSM-supporting anonymous inode interface
Date: Mon, 17 Aug 2020 14:10:20 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CA+EESO5kDbSCcpzxij6M0aWXqKDyFds+azksQFrXES6ACzTFtA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200807230225.GW1236603@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>

On Fri, Aug 7, 2020 at 4:02 PM Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Aug 07, 2020 at 03:49:39PM -0700, Lokesh Gidra wrote:
>
> > The new functions accept an optional context_inode parameter that
> > callers can use to provide additional contextual information to
> > security modules, e.g., indicating that one anonymous struct file is a
> > logical child of another, allowing a security model to propagate
> > security information from one to the other.
>
> What the hell is "logical child" and what are the lifetime rules implied
> by that relationship?

context_inode provides the security context required by the security
modules for granting/denying permission to create an anon inode of the
same type.

In case of userfaultfd, the relationship between the context_inode and
the created inode is described as that of ‘logical child’ because the
context_inode (userfaultfd inode of the parent process) provides the
security context required for creation of child process’ userfaultfd
inode. But there is no relationship beyond this point. Therefore, no
reference to context_inode is held anywhere.

  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-17 21:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-07 22:49 [PATCH v6 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 1/3] Add a new LSM-supporting anonymous inode interface Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 23:02   ` Al Viro
2020-08-17 21:10     ` Lokesh Gidra [this message]
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 2/3] Teach SELinux about anonymous inodes Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 3/3] Wire UFFD up to SELinux Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-20 18:35 ` [PATCH v6 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD James Morris
2020-08-21  3:48   ` Lokesh Gidra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CA+EESO5kDbSCcpzxij6M0aWXqKDyFds+azksQFrXES6ACzTFtA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=lokeshgidra@google.com \
    --cc=acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=anders.roxell@linaro.org \
    --cc=areber@redhat.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=calin@google.com \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dancol@dancol.org \
    --cc=dancol@google.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=jeffv@google.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=kaleshsingh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=nnk@google.com \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=thomascedeno@google.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 1/3] Add a new LSM-supporting anonymous inode interface' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).