Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com>
To: Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	Eric Paris <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	Daniel Colascione <dancol@dancol.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Cedeno <thomascedeno@google.com>,
	Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	Aaron Goidel <acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>,
	Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>,
	Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM List <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	SElinux list <selinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>,
	Calin Juravle <calin@google.com>,
	Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Nick Kralevich <nnk@google.com>,
	Jeffrey Vander Stoep <jeffv@google.com>,
	kernel-team@android.com, Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v8 2/3] Teach SELinux about anonymous inodes
Date: Mon, 31 Aug 2020 11:21:38 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CA+EESO7Rc5qKjPQ3Vh9=mJS+b2fJLnEY4_Zr06PWZJ-apC4Vfw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAEjxPJ7rsyw=AkRUmnshF5gWygHEN1ahKi5uD9FtYovz0JRKCQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Aug 31, 2020 at 11:05 AM Stephen Smalley
<stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Aug 27, 2020 at 2:35 AM Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com> wrote:
> >
> > From: Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>
> >
> > This change uses the anon_inodes and LSM infrastructure introduced in
> > the previous patch to give SELinux the ability to control
> > anonymous-inode files that are created using the new anon_inode_getfd_secure()
> > function.
> >
> > A SELinux policy author detects and controls these anonymous inodes by
> > adding a name-based type_transition rule that assigns a new security
> > type to anonymous-inode files created in some domain. The name used
> > for the name-based transition is the name associated with the
> > anonymous inode for file listings --- e.g., "[userfaultfd]" or
> > "[perf_event]".
> >
> > Example:
> >
> > type uffd_t;
> > type_transition sysadm_t sysadm_t : anon_inode uffd_t "[userfaultfd]";
> > allow sysadm_t uffd_t:anon_inode { create };
> >
> > (The next patch in this series is necessary for making userfaultfd
> > support this new interface.  The example above is just
> > for exposition.)
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>
> > Acked-by: Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>
> > Acked-by: Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> > Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> > ---
> >  security/selinux/hooks.c            | 53 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> >  security/selinux/include/classmap.h |  2 ++
> >  2 files changed, 55 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/security/selinux/hooks.c b/security/selinux/hooks.c
> > index a340986aa92e..b83f56e5ef40 100644
> > --- a/security/selinux/hooks.c
> > +++ b/security/selinux/hooks.c
> > @@ -2926,6 +2926,58 @@ static int selinux_inode_init_security(struct inode *inode, struct inode *dir,
> >         return 0;
> >  }
> >
> > +static int selinux_inode_init_security_anon(struct inode *inode,
> > +                                           const struct qstr *name,
> > +                                           const struct inode *context_inode)
> > +{
> > +       const struct task_security_struct *tsec = selinux_cred(current_cred());
> > +       struct common_audit_data ad;
> > +       struct inode_security_struct *isec;
> > +       int rc;
> > +
> > +       if (unlikely(!selinux_state.initialized))
>
> This should use selinux_initialized(&selinux_state) instead.

Thanks for the review. I'll make the change in the next version.

Kindly have a look at other patches in the series as well.

  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-31 18:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-27  6:35 [PATCH v8 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-27  6:35 ` [PATCH v8 1/3] Add a new LSM-supporting anonymous inode interface Lokesh Gidra
2020-09-01 12:41   ` Christian Brauner
2020-09-07  7:45     ` Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-27  6:35 ` [PATCH v8 2/3] Teach SELinux about anonymous inodes Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-31 18:05   ` Stephen Smalley
2020-08-31 18:21     ` Lokesh Gidra [this message]
2020-08-27  6:35 ` [PATCH v8 3/3] Wire UFFD up to SELinux Lokesh Gidra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CA+EESO7Rc5qKjPQ3Vh9=mJS+b2fJLnEY4_Zr06PWZJ-apC4Vfw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=lokeshgidra@google.com \
    --cc=acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=anders.roxell@linaro.org \
    --cc=areber@redhat.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=calin@google.com \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dancol@dancol.org \
    --cc=dancol@google.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=jeffv@google.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=kaleshsingh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=nnk@google.com \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=thomascedeno@google.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v8 2/3] Teach SELinux about anonymous inodes' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).