Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	Stephen Smalley <sds@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	Nicolas Dichtel <nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com>,
	Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>, Karel Zak <kzak@redhat.com>,
	Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM List <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/4] watch_queue: Implement mount topology and attribute change notifications
Date: Fri, 24 Jul 2020 13:25:50 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=wgWNpzCuHyyFwhR2fq49yxB9tKiH2t2y-O-8V6Gh0TFdw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <2189056.1595620785@warthog.procyon.org.uk>

On Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 12:59 PM David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> That's a good point.  Any suggestions on how to do it?  An additional RLIMIT?
>
> Or should I do it like I did with keyrings and separately manage a quota for
> each user?

I'd count them per user, and maybe start out saying "you can have as
many watches as you can have files" and just re-use RLIMIT_NOFILE as
the limit for them.

And if that causes problems, let's re-visit. How does that sound?

                Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-24 20:26 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-24 13:11 [PATCH 0/4] Mount notifications David Howells
2020-07-24 13:11 ` [PATCH 1/4] watch_queue: Make watch_sizeof() check record size David Howells
2020-07-24 13:11 ` [PATCH 2/4] watch_queue: Add security hooks to rule on setting mount watches David Howells
2020-07-24 13:11 ` [PATCH 3/4] watch_queue: Implement mount topology and attribute change notifications David Howells
2020-07-24 19:14   ` Linus Torvalds
2020-07-24 19:59   ` David Howells
2020-07-24 20:25     ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2020-07-24 20:45     ` David Howells
2020-07-24 13:11 ` [PATCH 4/4] watch_queue: sample: Display mount tree " David Howells

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=wgWNpzCuHyyFwhR2fq49yxB9tKiH2t2y-O-8V6Gh0TFdw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=jlayton@redhat.com \
    --cc=kzak@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mszeredi@redhat.com \
    --cc=nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com \
    --cc=raven@themaw.net \
    --cc=sds@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 3/4] watch_queue: Implement mount topology and attribute change notifications' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).