Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Matt Denton <mpdenton@google.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Chris Palmer <palmer@google.com>,
	Robert Sesek <rsesek@google.com>,
	Giuseppe Scrivano <gscrivan@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>,
	Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	containers@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-api@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	Amit Pundir <amit.pundir@linaro.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 3/9] net/scm: Regularize compat handling of scm_detach_fds()
Date: Fri, 7 Aug 2020 13:29:24 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CANcMJZAcDAG7Dq7vo=M-SZwujj+BOKMh7wKvywHq+tEX3GDbBQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200709182642.1773477-4-keescook@chromium.org>

On Thu, Jul 9, 2020 at 11:28 AM Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> Duplicate the cleanups from commit 2618d530dd8b ("net/scm: cleanup
> scm_detach_fds") into the compat code.
>
> Replace open-coded __receive_sock() with a call to the helper.
>
> Move the check added in commit 1f466e1f15cf ("net: cleanly handle kernel
> vs user buffers for ->msg_control") to before the compat call, even
> though it should be impossible for an in-kernel call to also be compat.
>
> Correct the int "flags" argument to unsigned int to match fd_install()
> and similar APIs.
>
> Regularize any remaining differences, including a whitespace issue,
> a checkpatch warning, and add the check from commit 6900317f5eff ("net,
> scm: fix PaX detected msg_controllen overflow in scm_detach_fds") which
> fixed an overflow unique to 64-bit. To avoid confusion when comparing
> the compat handler to the native handler, just include the same check
> in the compat handler.
>
> Acked-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> ---

Hey Kees,
  So during the merge window (while chasing a few other regressions),
I noticed occasionally my Dragonboard 845c running AOSP having trouble
with the web browser crashing or other apps hanging, and I've bisected
the issue down to this change.

Unfortunately it doesn't revert cleanly so I can't validate reverting
it sorts things against linus/HEAD.  Anyway, I wanted to check and see
if you had any other reports of similar or any ideas what might be
going wrong?

thanks
-john

  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-07 20:29 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-09 18:26 [PATCH v7 0/9] Add seccomp notifier ioctl that enables adding fds Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 1/9] net/compat: Add missing sock updates for SCM_RIGHTS Kees Cook
2020-07-10 11:28   ` Christian Brauner
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 2/9] pidfd: Add missing sock updates for pidfd_getfd() Kees Cook
2020-07-09 20:00   ` Jann Horn
2020-07-09 21:17     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-09 22:35     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 3/9] net/scm: Regularize compat handling of scm_detach_fds() Kees Cook
2020-08-07 20:29   ` John Stultz [this message]
2020-08-07 22:18     ` Kees Cook
2020-08-08  0:02       ` John Stultz
2020-08-08  7:17         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 4/9] fs: Move __scm_install_fd() to __receive_fd() Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 5/9] fs: Add receive_fd() wrapper for __receive_fd() Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 6/9] pidfd: Replace open-coded receive_fd() Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 7/9] fs: Expand __receive_fd() to accept existing fd Kees Cook
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 8/9] seccomp: Introduce addfd ioctl to seccomp user notifier Kees Cook
2020-07-14 18:20   ` Will Drewry
2020-07-09 18:26 ` [PATCH v7 9/9] selftests/seccomp: Test SECCOMP_IOCTL_NOTIF_ADDFD Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CANcMJZAcDAG7Dq7vo=M-SZwujj+BOKMh7wKvywHq+tEX3GDbBQ@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=amit.pundir@linaro.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gscrivan@redhat.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=mpdenton@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=palmer@google.com \
    --cc=rsesek@google.com \
    --cc=sargun@sargun.me \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=wad@chromium.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 3/9] net/scm: Regularize compat handling of scm_detach_fds()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).