Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
To: Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	Eric Paris <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	Daniel Colascione <dancol@dancol.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Cedeno <thomascedeno@google.com>,
	Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	Aaron Goidel <acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>,
	Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>,
	Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org, selinux@vger.kernel.org,
	kaleshsingh@google.com, calin@google.com, surenb@google.com,
	nnk@google.com, jeffv@google.com, kernel-team@android.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD
Date: Fri, 21 Aug 2020 04:35:38 +1000 (AEST)	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <alpine.LRH.2.21.2008210433591.29407@namei.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200807224941.3440722-1-lokeshgidra@google.com>

On Fri, 7 Aug 2020, Lokesh Gidra wrote:

> Userfaultfd in unprivileged contexts could be potentially very
> useful. We'd like to harden userfaultfd to make such unprivileged use
> less risky. This patch series allows SELinux to manage userfaultfd
> file descriptors and in the future, other kinds of
> anonymous-inode-based file descriptor.  SELinux policy authors can
> apply policy types to anonymous inodes by providing name-based
> transition rules keyed off the anonymous inode internal name (
> "[userfaultfd]" in the case of userfaultfd(2) file descriptors) and
> applying policy to the new SIDs thus produced.

Can you expand more on why this would be useful, e.g. use-cases?


-- 
James Morris
<jmorris@namei.org>


  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-08-20 18:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-07 22:49 Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 1/3] Add a new LSM-supporting anonymous inode interface Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 23:02   ` Al Viro
2020-08-17 21:10     ` Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 2/3] Teach SELinux about anonymous inodes Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-07 22:49 ` [PATCH v6 3/3] Wire UFFD up to SELinux Lokesh Gidra
2020-08-20 18:35 ` James Morris [this message]
2020-08-21  3:48   ` [PATCH v6 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD Lokesh Gidra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=alpine.LRH.2.21.2008210433591.29407@namei.org \
    --to=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=anders.roxell@linaro.org \
    --cc=areber@redhat.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=calin@google.com \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dancol@dancol.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=jeffv@google.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=kaleshsingh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lokeshgidra@google.com \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=nnk@google.com \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=thomascedeno@google.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 0/3] SELinux support for anonymous inodes and UFFD' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).