LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jia He <hejianet@gmail.com>
To: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	Philip Derrin <philip@cog.systems>,
	AKASHI Takahiro <takahiro.akashi@linaro.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>,
	Gioh Kim <gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Kemi Wang <kemi.wang@intel.com>, Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.com>,
	YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>,
	Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com>,
	Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64
Date: Fri, 4 May 2018 10:45:52 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <05b0fcf2-7670-101e-d4ab-1f656ff6b02f@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1523431317-30612-1-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com>

Ping

Sorry if I am a little bit verbose, but it can speedup the arm64 booting time 
indeed.

-- 
Cheers,
Jia

On 4/11/2018 3:21 PM, Jia He Wrote:
> Commit b92df1de5d28 ("mm: page_alloc: skip over regions of invalid pfns
> where possible") tried to optimize the loop in memmap_init_zone(). But
> there is still some room for improvement.
>
> Patch 1 introduce new config to make codes more generic
> Patch 2 remain the memblock_next_valid_pfn on arm and arm64
> Patch 3 optimizes the memblock_next_valid_pfn()
> Patch 4~6 optimizes the early_pfn_valid()
>
> As for the performance improvement, after this set, I can see the time
> overhead of memmap_init() is reduced from 41313 us to 24389 us in my
> armv8a server(QDF2400 with 96G memory).
>
> Without this patchset:
> [  117.113677] before memmap_init
> [  117.118195] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 4518 us
> [  117.121446] before memmap_init
> [  117.154992] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 33546 us
> [  117.158241] before memmap_init
> [  117.161490] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 3249 us
>>>> totally takes 41313 us
> With this patchset:
> [  123.222962] before memmap_init
> [  123.226819] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 3857
> [  123.230070] before memmap_init
> [  123.247354] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 17284
> [  123.250604] before memmap_init
> [  123.253852] after  memmap_init
>>>> memmap_init takes 3248
>>>> totally takes 24389 us
> Attached the memblock region information in my server.
> [   86.956758] Zone ranges:
> [   86.959452]   DMA      [mem 0x0000000000200000-0x00000000ffffffff]
> [   86.966041]   Normal   [mem 0x0000000100000000-0x00000017ffffffff]
> [   86.972631] Movable zone start for each node
> [   86.977179] Early memory node ranges
> [   86.980985]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000000200000-0x000000000021ffff]
> [   86.987666]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000000820000-0x000000000307ffff]
> [   86.994348]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000003080000-0x000000000308ffff]
> [   87.001029]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000003090000-0x00000000031fffff]
> [   87.007710]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000003200000-0x00000000033fffff]
> [   87.014392]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000003410000-0x000000000563ffff]
> [   87.021073]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000005640000-0x000000000567ffff]
> [   87.027754]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000005680000-0x00000000056dffff]
> [   87.034435]   node   0: [mem 0x00000000056e0000-0x00000000086fffff]
> [   87.041117]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008700000-0x000000000871ffff]
> [   87.047798]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008720000-0x000000000894ffff]
> [   87.054479]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008950000-0x0000000008baffff]
> [   87.061161]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008bb0000-0x0000000008bcffff]
> [   87.067842]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008bd0000-0x0000000008c4ffff]
> [   87.074524]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008c50000-0x0000000008e2ffff]
> [   87.081205]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008e30000-0x0000000008e4ffff]
> [   87.087886]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008e50000-0x0000000008fcffff]
> [   87.094568]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000008fd0000-0x000000000910ffff]
> [   87.101249]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000009110000-0x00000000092effff]
> [   87.107930]   node   0: [mem 0x00000000092f0000-0x000000000930ffff]
> [   87.114612]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000009310000-0x000000000963ffff]
> [   87.121293]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000009640000-0x000000000e61ffff]
> [   87.127975]   node   0: [mem 0x000000000e620000-0x000000000e64ffff]
> [   87.134657]   node   0: [mem 0x000000000e650000-0x000000000fffffff]
> [   87.141338]   node   0: [mem 0x0000000010800000-0x0000000017feffff]
> [   87.148019]   node   0: [mem 0x000000001c000000-0x000000001c00ffff]
> [   87.154701]   node   0: [mem 0x000000001c010000-0x000000001c7fffff]
> [   87.161383]   node   0: [mem 0x000000001c810000-0x000000007efbffff]
> [   87.168064]   node   0: [mem 0x000000007efc0000-0x000000007efdffff]
> [   87.174746]   node   0: [mem 0x000000007efe0000-0x000000007efeffff]
> [   87.181427]   node   0: [mem 0x000000007eff0000-0x000000007effffff]
> [   87.188108]   node   0: [mem 0x000000007f000000-0x00000017ffffffff]
> [   87.194791] Initmem setup node 0 [mem 0x0000000000200000-0x00000017ffffffff]
>
> Changelog:
> V8: - introduce new config and move generic code to early_pfn.h
>      - optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn as suggested by Matthew Wilcox
> V7: - fix i386 compilation error. refine the commit description
> V6: - simplify the codes, move arm/arm64 common codes to one file.
>      - refine patches as suggested by Danial Vacek and Ard Biesheuvel
> V5: - further refining as suggested by Danial Vacek. Make codes
>        arm/arm64 more arch specific
> V4: - refine patches as suggested by Danial Vacek and Wei Yang
>      - optimized on arm besides arm64
> V3: - fix 2 issues reported by kbuild test robot
> V2: - rebase to mmotm latest
>      - remain memblock_next_valid_pfn on arm64
>      - refine memblock_search_pfn_regions and pfn_valid_region
>
> Jia He (6):
>    arm: arm64: introduce CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
>    mm: page_alloc: remain memblock_next_valid_pfn() on arm/arm64
>    arm: arm64: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in
>      memblock_next_valid_pfn()
>    mm/memblock: introduce memblock_search_pfn_regions()
>    arm: arm64: introduce pfn_valid_region()
>    mm: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in early_pfn_valid()
>
>   arch/arm/Kconfig          |  4 +++
>   arch/arm/mm/init.c        |  1 +
>   arch/arm64/Kconfig        |  4 +++
>   arch/arm64/mm/init.c      |  1 +
>   include/linux/early_pfn.h | 79 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>   include/linux/memblock.h  |  2 ++
>   include/linux/mmzone.h    | 18 ++++++++++-
>   mm/Kconfig                |  3 ++
>   mm/memblock.c             |  9 ++++++
>   mm/page_alloc.c           |  5 ++-
>   10 files changed, 124 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>   create mode 100644 include/linux/early_pfn.h
>

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-05-04  2:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-11  7:21 Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 1/6] arm: arm64: introduce CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 2/6] mm: page_alloc: remain memblock_next_valid_pfn() on arm/arm64 Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 3/6] arm: arm64: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in memblock_next_valid_pfn() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 4/6] mm/memblock: introduce memblock_search_pfn_regions() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 5/6] arm: arm64: introduce pfn_valid_region() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 6/6] mm: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in early_pfn_valid() Jia He
2018-05-04  2:45 ` Jia He [this message]
2018-05-04 16:08   ` [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64 Daniel Vacek
2018-05-04 16:53     ` Pavel Tatashin
2018-05-04 18:33       ` Daniel Vacek
2018-05-07  1:10       ` Jia He

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=05b0fcf2-7670-101e-d4ab-1f656ff6b02f@gmail.com \
    --to=hejianet@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kemi.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nborisov@suse.com \
    --cc=neelx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@oracle.com \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=ptesarik@suse.com \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    --cc=takahiro.akashi@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yasu.isimatu@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).