LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
To: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>, Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	Konrad Dybcio <konrad.dybcio@somainline.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>,
	Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Veerabhadrarao Badiganti <vbadigan@codeaurora.org>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@chromium.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Linux MMC List <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"list@263.net:IOMMU DRIVERS" <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@orcam.me.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC
Date: Fri, 9 Jul 2021 20:21:46 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <0a2042ff-1604-d32d-35a7-d4df8f591459@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YOaymBHc4g2cIfRn@8bytes.org>

On 2021-07-08 09:08, Joerg Roedel wrote:
> On Wed, Jul 07, 2021 at 01:00:13PM -0700, Doug Anderson wrote:
>> a) Nothing is inherently broken with my current approach.
>>
>> b) My current approach doesn't make anybody terribly upset even if
>> nobody is totally in love with it.
> 
> Well, no, sorry :)
> 
> I don't think it is a good idea to allow drivers to opt-out of the
> strict-setting. This is a platform or user decision, and the driver
> should accept whatever it gets.
> 
> So the real question is still why strict is the default setting and how
> to change that.

It's occurred to me whilst hacking on the relevant area that there's an 
important point I may have somewhat glossed over there: most of the 
IOMMU drivers that are used for arm64 do not take advantage of 
non-strict mode anyway. If anything it would be detrimental, since 
iommu-dma would waste a bunch of time and memory managing flush queues 
and firing off the batch invalidations while internally the drivers are 
still invalidating each unmap synchronously.

Those IOMMUs in mobile and embedded SoCs are also mostly used for media 
devices, where the buffers are relatively large and change relatively 
infrequently, so they are less likely to gain significantly from 
supporting non-strict mode. It's primarily the Arm SMMUs which get used 
in the more "x86-like" paradigm (especially in larger systems) of being 
stuck in front of everything including networking/storage/PCIe/etc. 
where the workloads are far more varied.

Robin.

> Or document for the users that want performance how to
> change the setting, so that they can decide.
> 
> Regards,
> 
> 	Joerg
> 
> _______________________________________________
> iommu mailing list
> iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
> https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/iommu
> 

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-09 19:22 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-24 17:17 Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] iommu: Add per-domain strictness and combine with the global default Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] iommu/arm-smmu: Check for strictness after calling impl->init_context() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] mmc: sdhci-msm: Request non-strict IOMMU mode Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 23:05   ` Doug Anderson
2021-06-25 13:18 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC Joerg Roedel
2021-06-25 14:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-07 20:00     ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-08  8:08       ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-08 14:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-13 18:07           ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 15:14             ` Doug Anderson
2021-08-03  0:09               ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  0:34                 ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  8:19                 ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-09 13:56         ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:15           ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-14 10:29             ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:48               ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-09 19:21         ` Robin Murphy [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=0a2042ff-1604-d32d-35a7-d4df8f591459@arm.com \
    --to=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=konrad.dybcio@somainline.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=macro@orcam.me.uk \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=sonnyrao@chromium.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vbadigan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).