LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org, kvm@vger.kernel.org,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Michael S . Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	Sebastien Boeuf <sebastien.boeuf@intel.com>,
	Samuel Ortiz <samuel.ortiz@intel.com>,
	Robert Bradford <robert.bradford@intel.com>,
	Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>,
	teawater <teawaterz@linux.alibaba.com>,
	Igor Mammedov <imammedo@redhat.com>,
	"Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	Anthony Yznaga <anthony.yznaga@oracle.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>, Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>,
	Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>,
	Pingfan Liu <kernelfans@gmail.com>, Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/10] virtio-mem: paravirtualized memory
Date: Mon, 30 Mar 2020 10:42:47 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <11c87dee-e94e-0475-76d2-143adfd50d9d@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAM9Jb+jbVciBwHBj09w4+sXbJ_dRwiXwe2DPUsx0P1fRsdAi0w@mail.gmail.com>

On 29.03.20 17:41, Pankaj Gupta wrote:
>>> Hi David,
>>>
>>> Trying to test the series with the Qemu branch(virtio-mem) mentioned.
>>> Unfortunately,
>>> not able to hotplug memory. Is anything changed from your previous posting
>>> or I am doing something wrong?
>>>
>>> After giving value to "requested-size", I see size as zero.
>>>
>>> (qemu) qom-set vm0 requested-size 10G
>>> (qemu) info memory-devices
>>> Memory device [virtio-mem]: "vm0"
>>>   memaddr: 0x240000000
>>>   node: 0
>>>   requested-size: 10737418240
>>>   size: 0
>>>   max-size: 107374182400
>>>   block-size: 2097152
>>>   memdev: /objects/mem0
>>>
>>> Guest kernel: 5.6.0-rc4
>>> Using same Qemu commandline arguments mentioned in cover-letter.
>>
>> Are you booting from an initrd? Are you compiling virtio-mem as a kernel
>> module or into the kernel binary?
> Ah was booting into wrong kernel version. Sorry! for the noise.
> 
> Working perfectly for me. Tried various cmbinations for both
> hotplug/unplug with multiple
> NUMA nodes and verified result in guest.
> 
> For the series, you can add:
> Tested-by: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>

Awesome, thanks!

-- 
Thanks,

David / dhildenb


  reply	other threads:[~2020-03-30  8:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-11 17:14 David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 01/10] virtio-mem: Paravirtualized memory hotplug David Hildenbrand
2020-04-15  5:59   ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 02/10] virtio-mem: Allow to specify an ACPI PXM as nid David Hildenbrand
2020-03-30 11:04   ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 03/10] virtio-mem: Paravirtualized memory hotunplug part 1 David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 04/10] virtio-mem: Paravirtualized memory hotunplug part 2 David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 05/10] mm: Allow to offline unmovable PageOffline() pages via MEM_GOING_OFFLINE David Hildenbrand
2020-04-14 16:34   ` Michael S. Tsirkin
2020-04-15  0:32     ` Andrew Morton
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 06/10] virtio-mem: Allow to offline partially unplugged memory blocks David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 07/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Introduce offline_and_remove_memory() David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:19   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-04-14 16:35     ` Michael S. Tsirkin
2020-04-15  0:30       ` Andrew Morton
2020-04-15  7:35   ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 08/10] virtio-mem: Offline and remove completely unplugged memory blocks David Hildenbrand
2020-04-15  7:42   ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 09/10] virtio-mem: Better retry handling David Hildenbrand
2020-03-11 17:14 ` [PATCH v2 10/10] MAINTAINERS: Add myself as virtio-mem maintainer David Hildenbrand
2020-03-27 16:58 ` [PATCH v2 00/10] virtio-mem: paravirtualized memory Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-27 17:03   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-03-27 17:07     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-03-29 15:41     ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-03-30  8:42       ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2020-03-29 12:42 ` Michael S. Tsirkin
2020-03-30  8:16   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-04-14  9:15   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-04-14 16:28     ` Michael S. Tsirkin
2020-04-14 18:39       ` David Hildenbrand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=11c87dee-e94e-0475-76d2-143adfd50d9d@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=anthony.yznaga@oracle.com \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dgilbert@redhat.com \
    --cc=dyoung@redhat.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=imammedo@redhat.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=kernelfans@gmail.com \
    --cc=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lcapitulino@redhat.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.com \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.de \
    --cc=pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@soleen.com \
    --cc=pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=robert.bradford@intel.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=samuel.ortiz@intel.com \
    --cc=sebastien.boeuf@intel.com \
    --cc=stefanha@redhat.com \
    --cc=teawaterz@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 00/10] virtio-mem: paravirtualized memory' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).