LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
To: Stefan Fritsch <sf@sfritsch.de>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>,
	Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, agl@google.com, tzanussi@gmail.com,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	2nddept-manager@sdl.hitachi.co.jp,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Subject: Re: Using ftrace/perf as a basis for generic seccomp
Date: Mon, 07 Feb 2011 13:26:09 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1297081569.13327.3.camel@laptop> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <alpine.DEB.1.10.1102051243480.26628@eru.sfritsch.de>

On Sat, 2011-02-05 at 12:51 +0100, Stefan Fritsch wrote:

> A really major use case is socketcall(2). All socket related syscalls 
> (accept, bind, connect, receivemsg, ...) are implemented as socketcall 
> with an appropriate argument. There will be many cases where you want a 
> sandboxed process to be able to do recvmsg(2) to receive new file 
> descriptors over an already open unix-domain socket from a broker process. 
> But you may want to disallow other socket operations, especially listen, 
> accept, and connect.
> 
> Of course one could also add some special case handling for socketcall 
> in seccomp instead of using the full filtering.

That looks like a perfect use-case for the LSM bits, attach some state
to both the fd object and the task object and if they don't match, don't
allow the action.




  reply	other threads:[~2011-02-07 12:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2011-01-12 21:28 Eric Paris
2011-02-01 14:58 ` Eric Paris
2011-02-02 12:14   ` Masami Hiramatsu
2011-02-02 12:26     ` Ingo Molnar
2011-02-02 16:45       ` Eric Paris
2011-02-02 17:55         ` Ingo Molnar
2011-02-02 18:17           ` Steven Rostedt
2011-02-03 19:06         ` Frederic Weisbecker
2011-02-03 19:18           ` Frederic Weisbecker
2011-02-03 22:06           ` Stefan Fritsch
2011-02-03 23:10             ` Frederic Weisbecker
2011-02-04  1:50               ` Eric Paris
2011-02-04 14:31                 ` Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-04 16:29                   ` Eric Paris
2011-02-04 17:04                     ` Frederic Weisbecker
2011-02-05 11:51                       ` Stefan Fritsch
2011-02-07 12:26                         ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2011-02-04 16:36             ` Eric Paris
2011-02-05 11:42               ` Stefan Fritsch
2011-02-06 16:51                 ` Eric Paris

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1297081569.13327.3.camel@laptop \
    --to=a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl \
    --cc=2nddept-manager@sdl.hitachi.co.jp \
    --cc=acme@redhat.com \
    --cc=agl@google.com \
    --cc=eparis@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweisbec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jbaron@redhat.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=mingo@elte.hu \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=sf@sfritsch.de \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tzanussi@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: Using ftrace/perf as a basis for generic seccomp' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).