LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@mediatek.com>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: "Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Hongzhou Yang" <hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com>,
	"Matthias Brugger" <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Pawel Moll" <pawel.moll@arm.com>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Ian Campbell" <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>,
	"Kumar Gala" <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>,
	"Grant Likely" <grant.likely@linaro.org>,
	"Heiko Stübner" <heiko@sntech.de>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Vladimir Murzin" <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	"Ashwin Chaugule" <ashwin.chaugule@linaro.org>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org"
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"huang eddie" <eddie.huang@mediatek.com>,
	dandan.he@mediatek.com, alan.cheng@mediatek.com,
	toby.liu@mediatek.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/3] dt-bindings: Add pinctrl bindings for mt65xx/mt81xx.
Date: Fri, 16 Jan 2015 18:23:25 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1421403805.11671.58.camel@mtksdaap41> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdYRrs2=gNM1XGSh1cSo5Pvx6iNLt4HjL6gdTqGPWYSRDw@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri, 2015-01-16 at 10:53 +0100, Linus Walleij wrote:
> On Tue, Jan 13, 2015 at 5:16 PM, Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de> wrote:
> > On Tue, Jan 13, 2015 at 11:05:22AM +0100, Linus Walleij wrote:
> 
> >> > You often talk about ambiguities. Could you give an example what
> >> > ambiguities you mean?
> >>
> >> What happened was this pins = ; arguments were sometimes
> >> strings and sometimes integers, that becomes strange to handle
> >> in code, ambiguous.
> >
> > I see. I like naming it 'pinmux' because that's what it is: pins and
> > mux settings. A plain 'pinno' suggests that it contains only pin mubers,
> > without mux setting. How about 'pin-no-mux'? We also could add an
> > explicit "pins-are-numbered" property instead of distinguishing this
> > by property names.
> 
> I kind of like this "pins-are-numbered" thing.
> 
> The other property for the pin, whether pinmux or pin-no-mux or
> pin-num-and-mux etc is no such big deal, as long as it's
> consistent and documented with the generic bindings.

Hi Linus,

To make sure I understand it correct, you think something like this is
OK?

	pinctrl@01c20800 {
		compatible = "mediatek,mt8135-pinctrl";
[...]
		pins-are-numbered;

		i2c0_pins_a: i2c0@0 {
			pins1 {
				pins = <MT8135_PIN_100_SDA0__FUNC_SDA0>,
					<MT8135_PIN_101_SCL0__FUNC_SCL0>;
				bias-disable;
			};
		};
[....]
	}

Joe.C



  reply	other threads:[~2015-01-16 10:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <1415709535-31515-1-git-send-email-hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com>
2014-11-18 16:24 ` [PATCH v3 0/3] Add Mediatek SoC Pinctrl/GPIO driver for MT8135 Sascha Hauer
     [not found] ` <1415709535-31515-3-git-send-email-hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com>
2014-11-27  8:44   ` [PATCH v3 2/3] dt-bindings: Add pinctrl bindings for mt65xx/mt81xx Linus Walleij
2014-11-27 10:18     ` Sascha Hauer
2014-11-28 16:12       ` Linus Walleij
2014-12-02 13:55         ` Sascha Hauer
2015-01-10 21:33           ` Linus Walleij
2015-01-12 12:22             ` Sascha Hauer
2015-01-13 10:05               ` Linus Walleij
2015-01-13 16:16                 ` Sascha Hauer
2015-01-13 16:24                   ` Jean-Christophe PLAGNIOL-VILLARD
2015-01-16  9:53                   ` Linus Walleij
2015-01-16 10:23                     ` Yingjoe Chen [this message]
2015-01-20  9:45                       ` Linus Walleij
2015-01-26 15:57                         ` Sascha Hauer
2015-01-27 14:07                           ` Linus Walleij
     [not found] ` <1415709535-31515-2-git-send-email-hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com>
2014-11-27  9:14   ` [PATCH v3 1/3] ARM: mediatek: Add Pinctrl/GPIO driver for mt8135 Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1421403805.11671.58.camel@mtksdaap41 \
    --to=yingjoe.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=alan.cheng@mediatek.com \
    --cc=ashwin.chaugule@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dandan.he@mediatek.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=eddie.huang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=grant.likely@linaro.org \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@arm.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=pawel.moll@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=toby.liu@mediatek.com \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 2/3] dt-bindings: Add pinctrl bindings for mt65xx/mt81xx.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).