LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jia He <hejianet@gmail.com>
To: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	Philip Derrin <philip@cog.systems>,
	AKASHI Takahiro <takahiro.akashi@linaro.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>,
	Gioh Kim <gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Kemi Wang <kemi.wang@intel.com>, Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.com>,
	YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>,
	Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com>,
	Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	Jia He <hejianet@gmail.com>, Jia He <jia.he@hxt-semitech.com>
Subject: [PATCH v8 1/6] arm: arm64: introduce CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
Date: Wed, 11 Apr 2018 00:21:52 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1523431317-30612-2-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1523431317-30612-1-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com>

Make CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID a config option so it can move
memblock_next_valid_pfn to generic code file.

arm/arm64 can benefit from this booting time improvement.

Signed-off-by: Jia He <jia.he@hxt-semitech.com>
---
 arch/arm/Kconfig   | 4 ++++
 arch/arm64/Kconfig | 4 ++++
 mm/Kconfig         | 3 +++
 3 files changed, 11 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/arm/Kconfig b/arch/arm/Kconfig
index 51c8df5..77bc1bb 100644
--- a/arch/arm/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm/Kconfig
@@ -1637,6 +1637,10 @@ config ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL
 config HAVE_ARCH_PFN_VALID
 	def_bool ARCH_HAS_HOLES_MEMORYMODEL || !SPARSEMEM
 
+config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
+	def_bool y
+	depends on HAVE_ARCH_PFN_VALID
+
 config HAVE_GENERIC_GUP
 	def_bool y
 	depends on ARM_LPAE
diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
index c9a7e9e..f374203 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -747,6 +747,10 @@ config ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL
 config HAVE_ARCH_PFN_VALID
 	def_bool ARCH_HAS_HOLES_MEMORYMODEL || !SPARSEMEM
 
+config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
+	def_bool y
+	depends on HAVE_ARCH_PFN_VALID
+
 config HW_PERF_EVENTS
 	def_bool y
 	depends on ARM_PMU
diff --git a/mm/Kconfig b/mm/Kconfig
index c782e8f..c53ac38 100644
--- a/mm/Kconfig
+++ b/mm/Kconfig
@@ -137,6 +137,9 @@ config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP
 config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PHYS_MAP
 	bool
 
+config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
+	bool
+
 config HAVE_GENERIC_GUP
 	bool
 
-- 
2.7.4

  reply	other threads:[~2018-04-11  7:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-11  7:21 [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64 Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` Jia He [this message]
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 2/6] mm: page_alloc: remain memblock_next_valid_pfn() on arm/arm64 Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 3/6] arm: arm64: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in memblock_next_valid_pfn() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 4/6] mm/memblock: introduce memblock_search_pfn_regions() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 5/6] arm: arm64: introduce pfn_valid_region() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 6/6] mm: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in early_pfn_valid() Jia He
2018-05-04  2:45 ` [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64 Jia He
2018-05-04 16:08   ` Daniel Vacek
2018-05-04 16:53     ` Pavel Tatashin
2018-05-04 18:33       ` Daniel Vacek
2018-05-07  1:10       ` Jia He

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1523431317-30612-2-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com \
    --to=hejianet@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jia.he@hxt-semitech.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kemi.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nborisov@suse.com \
    --cc=neelx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@oracle.com \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=ptesarik@suse.com \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    --cc=takahiro.akashi@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yasu.isimatu@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v8 1/6] arm: arm64: introduce CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).