LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jia He <hejianet@gmail.com>
To: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	Philip Derrin <philip@cog.systems>,
	AKASHI Takahiro <takahiro.akashi@linaro.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>,
	Gioh Kim <gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Kemi Wang <kemi.wang@intel.com>, Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.com>,
	YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>,
	Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com>,
	Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	Jia He <hejianet@gmail.com>, Jia He <jia.he@hxt-semitech.com>
Subject: [PATCH v8 2/6] mm: page_alloc: remain memblock_next_valid_pfn() on arm/arm64
Date: Wed, 11 Apr 2018 00:21:53 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1523431317-30612-3-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1523431317-30612-1-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com>

Commit b92df1de5d28 ("mm: page_alloc: skip over regions of invalid pfns
where possible") optimized the loop in memmap_init_zone(). But it causes
possible panic bug. So Daniel Vacek reverted it later.

But as suggested by Daniel Vacek, it is fine to using memblock to skip
gaps and finding next valid frame with CONFIG_HAVE_ARCH_PFN_VALID.

On arm and arm64, memblock is used by default. But generic version of
pfn_valid() is based on mem sections and memblock_next_valid_pfn() does
not always return the next valid one but skips more resulting in some
valid frames to be skipped (as if they were invalid). And that's why
kernel was eventually crashing on some !arm machines.

And as verified by Eugeniu Rosca, arm can benifit from commit
b92df1de5d28. So remain the memblock_next_valid_pfn on arm/arm64 and
move the related codes to one file include/linux/arm96_common.h

Suggested-by: Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jia He <jia.he@hxt-semitech.com>
---
 arch/arm/mm/init.c        |  1 +
 arch/arm64/mm/init.c      |  1 +
 include/linux/early_pfn.h | 34 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/mmzone.h    | 11 +++++++++++
 mm/page_alloc.c           |  5 ++++-
 5 files changed, 51 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
 create mode 100644 include/linux/early_pfn.h

diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/init.c b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
index a1f11a7..de225a2 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
@@ -25,6 +25,7 @@
 #include <linux/dma-contiguous.h>
 #include <linux/sizes.h>
 #include <linux/stop_machine.h>
+#include <linux/early_pfn.h>
 
 #include <asm/cp15.h>
 #include <asm/mach-types.h>
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/init.c b/arch/arm64/mm/init.c
index 00e7b90..913c327 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/init.c
@@ -40,6 +40,7 @@
 #include <linux/mm.h>
 #include <linux/kexec.h>
 #include <linux/crash_dump.h>
+#include <linux/early_pfn.h>
 
 #include <asm/boot.h>
 #include <asm/fixmap.h>
diff --git a/include/linux/early_pfn.h b/include/linux/early_pfn.h
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..1b001c7
--- /dev/null
+++ b/include/linux/early_pfn.h
@@ -0,0 +1,34 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+/* Copyright (C) 2018 HXT-semitech Corp. */
+#ifndef __EARLY_PFN_H
+#define __EARLY_PFN_H
+#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
+ulong __init_memblock memblock_next_valid_pfn(ulong pfn)
+{
+	struct memblock_type *type = &memblock.memory;
+	unsigned int right = type->cnt;
+	unsigned int mid, left = 0;
+	phys_addr_t addr = PFN_PHYS(++pfn);
+
+	do {
+		mid = (right + left) / 2;
+
+		if (addr < type->regions[mid].base)
+			right = mid;
+		else if (addr >= (type->regions[mid].base +
+				  type->regions[mid].size))
+			left = mid + 1;
+		else {
+			/* addr is within the region, so pfn is valid */
+			return pfn;
+		}
+	} while (left < right);
+
+	if (right == type->cnt)
+		return -1UL;
+	else
+		return PHYS_PFN(type->regions[right].base);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(memblock_next_valid_pfn);
+#endif /*CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID*/
+#endif /*__EARLY_PFN_H*/
diff --git a/include/linux/mmzone.h b/include/linux/mmzone.h
index d797716..c40297d 100644
--- a/include/linux/mmzone.h
+++ b/include/linux/mmzone.h
@@ -1245,6 +1245,8 @@ static inline int pfn_valid(unsigned long pfn)
 		return 0;
 	return valid_section(__nr_to_section(pfn_to_section_nr(pfn)));
 }
+
+#define next_valid_pfn(pfn)	(pfn + 1)
 #endif
 
 static inline int pfn_present(unsigned long pfn)
@@ -1270,6 +1272,10 @@ static inline int pfn_present(unsigned long pfn)
 #endif
 
 #define early_pfn_valid(pfn)	pfn_valid(pfn)
+#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID
+extern ulong memblock_next_valid_pfn(ulong pfn);
+#define next_valid_pfn(pfn)	memblock_next_valid_pfn(pfn)
+#endif
 void sparse_init(void);
 #else
 #define sparse_init()	do {} while (0)
@@ -1291,6 +1297,11 @@ struct mminit_pfnnid_cache {
 #define early_pfn_valid(pfn)	(1)
 #endif
 
+/* fallback to default defitions*/
+#ifndef next_valid_pfn
+#define next_valid_pfn(pfn)	(pfn + 1)
+#endif
+
 void memory_present(int nid, unsigned long start, unsigned long end);
 unsigned long __init node_memmap_size_bytes(int, unsigned long, unsigned long);
 
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index c19f5ac..bab8e1a 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -5483,8 +5483,11 @@ void __meminit memmap_init_zone(unsigned long size, int nid, unsigned long zone,
 		if (context != MEMMAP_EARLY)
 			goto not_early;
 
-		if (!early_pfn_valid(pfn))
+		if (!early_pfn_valid(pfn)) {
+			pfn = next_valid_pfn(pfn) - 1;
 			continue;
+		}
+
 		if (!early_pfn_in_nid(pfn, nid))
 			continue;
 		if (!update_defer_init(pgdat, pfn, end_pfn, &nr_initialised))
-- 
2.7.4

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-11  7:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-11  7:21 [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64 Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 1/6] arm: arm64: introduce CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_PFN_VALID Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` Jia He [this message]
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 3/6] arm: arm64: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in memblock_next_valid_pfn() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 4/6] mm/memblock: introduce memblock_search_pfn_regions() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 5/6] arm: arm64: introduce pfn_valid_region() Jia He
2018-04-11  7:21 ` [PATCH v8 6/6] mm: page_alloc: reduce unnecessary binary search in early_pfn_valid() Jia He
2018-05-04  2:45 ` [PATCH v8 0/6] optimize memblock_next_valid_pfn and early_pfn_valid on arm and arm64 Jia He
2018-05-04 16:08   ` Daniel Vacek
2018-05-04 16:53     ` Pavel Tatashin
2018-05-04 18:33       ` Daniel Vacek
2018-05-07  1:10       ` Jia He

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1523431317-30612-3-git-send-email-hejianet@gmail.com \
    --to=hejianet@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=gi-oh.kim@profitbricks.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jia.he@hxt-semitech.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kemi.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nborisov@suse.com \
    --cc=neelx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@oracle.com \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=ptesarik@suse.com \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    --cc=takahiro.akashi@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yasu.isimatu@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v8 2/6] mm: page_alloc: remain memblock_next_valid_pfn() on arm/arm64' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).