LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
To: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Philip Elcan <pelcan@codeaurora.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
Subject: [PATCH v9 4/4] Revert "arm64: Enforce BBM for huge IO/VMAP mappings"
Date: Mon, 30 Apr 2018 13:11:34 +0530	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1525074094-25839-5-git-send-email-cpandya@codeaurora.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1525074094-25839-1-git-send-email-cpandya@codeaurora.org>

This commit 15122ee2c515a ("arm64: Enforce BBM for huge
IO/VMAP mappings") is a temporary work-around until the
issues with CONFIG_HAVE_ARCH_HUGE_VMAP gets fixed.

Revert this change as we have fixes for the issue.

Signed-off-by: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
---
 arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c | 8 --------
 1 file changed, 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
index 0f651db..170009b 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
@@ -935,10 +935,6 @@ int pud_set_huge(pud_t *pudp, phys_addr_t phys, pgprot_t prot)
 	pgprot_t sect_prot = __pgprot(PUD_TYPE_SECT |
 					pgprot_val(mk_sect_prot(prot)));
 
-	/* ioremap_page_range doesn't honour BBM */
-	if (pud_present(READ_ONCE(*pudp)))
-		return 0;
-
 	BUG_ON(phys & ~PUD_MASK);
 	set_pud(pudp, pfn_pud(__phys_to_pfn(phys), sect_prot));
 	return 1;
@@ -949,10 +945,6 @@ int pmd_set_huge(pmd_t *pmdp, phys_addr_t phys, pgprot_t prot)
 	pgprot_t sect_prot = __pgprot(PMD_TYPE_SECT |
 					pgprot_val(mk_sect_prot(prot)));
 
-	/* ioremap_page_range doesn't honour BBM */
-	if (pmd_present(READ_ONCE(*pmdp)))
-		return 0;
-
 	BUG_ON(phys & ~PMD_MASK);
 	set_pmd(pmdp, pfn_pmd(__phys_to_pfn(phys), sect_prot));
 	return 1;
-- 
Qualcomm India Private Limited, on behalf of Qualcomm Innovation
Center, Inc., is a member of Code Aurora Forum, a Linux Foundation
Collaborative Project

      parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-30  7:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-30  7:41 [PATCH v9 0/4] Fix issues with huge mapping in ioremap for ARM64 Chintan Pandya
2018-04-30  7:41 ` [PATCH v9 1/4] ioremap: Update pgtable free interfaces with addr Chintan Pandya
2018-04-30  7:41 ` [PATCH v9 2/4] arm64: tlbflush: Introduce __flush_tlb_kernel_pgtable Chintan Pandya
2018-04-30  7:41 ` [PATCH v9 3/4] arm64: Implement page table free interfaces Chintan Pandya
2018-05-23 14:01   ` Will Deacon
2018-05-23 14:34     ` Kani, Toshi
2018-05-24  7:03       ` Chintan Pandya
2018-05-24  7:34     ` Chintan Pandya
2018-04-30  7:41 ` Chintan Pandya [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1525074094-25839-5-git-send-email-cpandya@codeaurora.org \
    --to=cpandya@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=pelcan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=toshi.kani@hpe.com \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v9 4/4] Revert "arm64: Enforce BBM for huge IO/VMAP mappings"' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).