LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
To: Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>,
	Taniya Das <tdas@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Andy Gross <andy.gross@linaro.org>,
	David Brown <david.brown@linaro.org>,
	Rajendra Nayak <rnayak@codeaurora.org>,
	Odelu Kukatla <okukatla@codeaurora.org>,
	Amit Nischal <anischal@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-clk@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, Taniya Das <tdas@codeaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [v5 1/2] dt-bindings: clock: Introduce QCOM RPMh clock bindings
Date: Tue, 01 May 2018 14:10:27 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <152520902751.138124.3904360654314728163@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1525164093-16645-2-git-send-email-tdas@codeaurora.org>

Quoting Taniya Das (2018-05-01 01:41:32)
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/clock/qcom,rpmh-clk.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/clock/qcom,rpmh-clk.txt
> new file mode 100644
> index 0000000..ecc1dbe
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/clock/qcom,rpmh-clk.txt
> @@ -0,0 +1,32 @@
> +Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. RPMh Clocks
> +-------------------------------------------------------
> +
> +Resource Power Manager Hardened (RPMh) manages shared resources on
> +some Qualcomm Technologies Inc. SoCs. It accepts clock requests from
> +other hardware subsystems via RSC to control clocks.
> +
> +Required properties :
> +- compatible : shall contain "qcom,sdm845-rpmh-clk"
> +
> +- #clock-cells : must contain 1
> +
> +Optional properties :
> +- assigned-clk-divs : property should contain a list of divs for each clock in
> +                       the clk-output-names property. In case divs are not
> +                       provided the clock rate would be same as parent rate.
> +- clk-output-names :  a list of strings of clock output signal for the divs to
> +                        be applied.
> +
> +Example :
> +
> +#include <dt-bindings/clock/qcom,rpmh.h>
> +
> +       &apps_rsc {
> +               rpmhcc: clock-controller {
> +                       compatible = "qcom,sdm845-rpmh-clk";
> +                       #clock-cells = <1>;
> +                       assigned-clk-divs = <2 2 2>;

This property shouldn't need to exist. Instead, add a fixed div-2 clock
to the DTS file (I guess in the SoC file) to divide the crystal
frequency into the rate you want (19.2 MHz in this case).

> +                       clk-output-names = "bi_tcxo", "lnbb_clk2",
> +                                               "lnbb_clk3";

We don't need this either.

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-01 21:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-01  8:41 [v5 0/2] clk: qcom: clk-rpmh: Add QCOM RPMh clock driver Taniya Das
2018-05-01  8:41 ` [v5 1/2] dt-bindings: clock: Introduce QCOM RPMh clock bindings Taniya Das
2018-05-01 21:10   ` Stephen Boyd [this message]
2018-05-01  8:41 ` [v5 2/2] clk: qcom: clk-rpmh: Add QCOM RPMh clock driver Taniya Das
2018-05-01 12:43   ` Rob Herring
2018-05-01 15:33     ` Taniya Das
2018-05-01 21:27   ` Stephen Boyd
2018-05-02 10:22     ` Taniya Das

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=152520902751.138124.3904360654314728163@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com \
    --to=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=andy.gross@linaro.org \
    --cc=anischal@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=david.brown@linaro.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=okukatla@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=rnayak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=tdas@codeaurora.org \
    --subject='Re: [v5 1/2] dt-bindings: clock: Introduce QCOM RPMh clock bindings' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).