LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
To: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@kernel.org>, mcgrof@kernel.org
Cc: Harald Hoyer <harald@redhat.com>, Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>,
	Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	ast@kernel.org, David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	jeyu@kernel.org, Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	takahiro.akashi@linaro.org, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Linux Wireless <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Seth Forshee <seth.forshee@canonical.com>,
	johannes.berg@intel.com, linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux-Kernel@Vger. Kernel. Org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	andresx7@gmail.com,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	luto@kernel.org, Justin Forbes <jforbes@redhat.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/6] firmware: differentiate between signed regulatory.db and other firmware
Date: Tue, 15 May 2018 08:43:39 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1526388219.3937.137.camel@linux.vnet.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CA+5PVA7QU0k91zvoBTAFzG+unkh-=-s9Lhk3hn3eTJhHo4ovCQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Tue, 2018-05-15 at 08:32 -0400, Josh Boyer wrote:

> One aspect that was always a concern to some is whether the firmware files
> were modified directly to have the signature attached to them.  That may
> run afoul of the "no modification" license that most blobs are shipped
> under.  Does IMA have the signatures for the files stored in xattrs or in
> some other detached manner?

They're stored as xattrs.  RPM has support for including file
signatures in the RPM header.

Mimi

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-15 12:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-01 13:48 [PATCH 0/6] firmware: kernel signature verification Mimi Zohar
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [PATCH 1/6] firmware: permit LSMs and IMA to fail firmware sysfs fallback loading Mimi Zohar
2018-05-04  0:02   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04  0:36     ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [PATCH 2/6] ima: prevent sysfs fallback firmware loading Mimi Zohar
2018-05-04  0:06   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [PATCH 3/6] firmware: differentiate between signed regulatory.db and other firmware Mimi Zohar
2018-05-04  0:07   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04  0:24     ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-08 17:34       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-09 11:30         ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-09 19:15           ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-09 19:57             ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-09 21:22               ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-09 22:06                 ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-09 23:48                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-10  2:00                     ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-10 23:26                       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-11  5:00                         ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-11 21:52                           ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-14 12:58                             ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-14 19:28                               ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-15  2:02                                 ` Mimi Zohar
2018-05-15  3:26                                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-15 12:32                                     ` Josh Boyer
2018-05-15 12:43                                       ` Mimi Zohar [this message]
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [PATCH 4/6] ima: coordinate with signed regulatory.db Mimi Zohar
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [PATCH 5/6] ima: verify kernel firmware signatures when using a preallocated buffer Mimi Zohar
2018-05-01 13:48 ` [RFC PATCH 6/6] ima: prevent loading firmware into a pre-allocated buffer Mimi Zohar
2018-05-04  0:10   ` Luis R. Rodriguez

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1526388219.3937.137.camel@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --to=zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=andresx7@gmail.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=harald@redhat.com \
    --cc=hare@suse.de \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=jforbes@redhat.com \
    --cc=johannes.berg@intel.com \
    --cc=jthumshirn@suse.de \
    --cc=jwboyer@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mjg59@srcf.ucam.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=seth.forshee@canonical.com \
    --cc=takahiro.akashi@linaro.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 3/6] firmware: differentiate between signed regulatory.db and other firmware' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).