LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Like Xu <like.xu.linux@gmail.com>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Robert Richter <rrichter@amd.com>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Subject: Re: [RESEND PATCH] perf/x86/amd: Do not touch the AMD64_EVENTSEL_HOSTONLY bit inside the guest
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2021 21:49:40 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <173cb541-fa2e-494c-f1b7-e9894bd4f25b@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <c49b7e74-5b34-745c-a3dc-55bb2e83474a@amd.com>

On 24/7/2021 4:16 am, Kim Phillips wrote:
> +Tom L., Robert R.
> 
> On 7/20/21 6:26 AM, Like Xu wrote:
>> From: Like Xu <likexu@tencent.com>
>>
>> If we use "perf record" in an AMD Milan guest, dmesg reports a #GP
>> warning from an unchecked MSR access error on MSR_F15H_PERF_CTLx:
>>
>> [] unchecked MSR access error: WRMSR to 0xc0010200 (tried to write
>> 0x0000020000110076) at rIP: 0xffffffff8106ddb4 
>> (native_write_msr+0x4/0x20)
>> [] Call Trace:
>> []  amd_pmu_disable_event+0x22/0x90
>> []  x86_pmu_stop+0x4c/0xa0
>> []  x86_pmu_del+0x3a/0x140
>>
>> The AMD64_EVENTSEL_HOSTONLY bit is defined and used on the host,
>> while the guest perf driver should avoid such use.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Like Xu <likexu@tencent.com>
>> ---
> 
> Tested-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

Thanks Kim.

Hi Peter, should I post a new version with the fix tag ?

> 
> If we were to add a Fixes: tag, would this be the right commit?:
> 
> commit 1018faa6cf23b256bf25919ef203cd7c129f06f2
> 
> Author: Joerg Roedel <joerg.roedel@amd.com>
> 
> Date:   Wed Feb 29 14:57:32 2012 +0100
> 
> 
> 
>      perf/x86/kvm: Fix Host-Only/Guest-Only counting with SVM disabled
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Kim

      reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29 13:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-20 11:26 Like Xu
2021-07-23 20:16 ` Kim Phillips
2021-07-29 13:49   ` Like Xu [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=173cb541-fa2e-494c-f1b7-e9894bd4f25b@gmail.com \
    --to=like.xu.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rrichter@amd.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [RESEND PATCH] perf/x86/amd: Do not touch the AMD64_EVENTSEL_HOSTONLY bit inside the guest' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).