LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>
To: Larry Finger <larry.finger@lwfinger.net>
Cc: Alexey Zaytsev <alexey.zaytsev@gmail.com>,
	Stefano Brivio <stefano.brivio@polimi.it>,
	Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@pobox.com>, Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>,
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Michael Buesch <mb@bu3sch.de>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Fix the bcm43xx driver breakage in 2.6.24/25.
Date: Wed, 27 Feb 2008 15:15:50 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20080227201550.GG3078@tuxdriver.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <47C19ABA.4040904@lwfinger.net>

On Sun, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:26:34AM -0700, Larry Finger wrote:

> I have reviewed the above patches and tested them with what I believe to be 
> most combinations. Everything worked and corrected the unintended 
> consequence of breaking bcm43xx when b44 is included. I agree that these 
> patches belong in 2.6.25 and stable (2.6.24). Of course, the problem goes 
> away in 2.6.26.

I can't say I really like Alexey's patches, but I guess they are OK.
I think I like the "b43_pci_bridge as a module" option a little better,
but as Michael illustrated there are problems with that approach too.

I'll apply the patches.

John
-- 
John W. Linville
linville@tuxdriver.com

  reply	other threads:[~2008-02-27 20:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2008-02-23 13:17 Alexey Zaytsev
2008-02-23 16:20 ` Michael Buesch
2008-02-23 20:37   ` Alexey Zaytsev
2008-02-24 16:26 ` Larry Finger
2008-02-27 20:15   ` John W. Linville [this message]
2008-02-27 21:58     ` Michael Buesch
2008-02-28  1:15       ` John W. Linville
2008-02-29  8:21 ` Andrew Morton
2008-02-29 10:05   ` Michael Buesch
2008-02-29 20:54     ` Ingo Molnar
2008-02-29 22:49       ` Michael Buesch

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20080227201550.GG3078@tuxdriver.com \
    --to=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=alexey.zaytsev@gmail.com \
    --cc=greg@kroah.com \
    --cc=jgarzik@pobox.com \
    --cc=larry.finger@lwfinger.net \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mb@bu3sch.de \
    --cc=mingo@elte.hu \
    --cc=penberg@cs.helsinki.fi \
    --cc=stefano.brivio@polimi.it \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] Fix the bcm43xx driver breakage in 2.6.24/25.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).