LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Faisal Latif <faisal.latif@intel.com>,
	Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org>,
	Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>,
	Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Alessandro Rubini <rubini@cvml.unipv.it>,
	Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>,
	Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>, Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls
Date: Thu, 3 Feb 2011 17:19:06 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20110203161906.GG2570@htj.dyndns.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20110203141548.346089735@chello.nl>

Hello, Peter.

On Thu, Feb 03, 2011 at 03:09:44PM +0100, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> Since queue_delayed_work() can now deal with existing timers, we don't
> need to explicitly call cancel_delayed_work() anymore.

This is nice but there's small complication with the way
queue_delayed_work() behaves.  If a delayed work item is already
pending, another queue_delayed_work() doesn't modify the delay whether
the new delay is longer or shorter than the current one.  The previous
patch doesn't really change the behavior as the whole thing is gated
with WORK_STRUCT_PENDING_BIT.

So, cancel_delayed_work() followed by queue_delayed_work() schedules
the work to be executed at the specified time regardless of the
current pending state while queue_delayed_work() takes effect iff
currently the work item is not pending.

The current behavior is weird and it often is easier to use explicit
timer + work item if the timer needs to be modified, but it has been
that way from the beginning so I don't think changing it would be a
good idea.  We can introduce a new interface (mod_delayed_work()
maybe) for this tho.

Thanks.

-- 
tejun

  reply	other threads:[~2011-02-03 16:20 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2011-02-03 14:09 [PATCH 0/4] del_timer_sync() and queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 1/4] lockdep, timer: Fix del_timer_sync() annotation Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 15:35   ` Thomas Gleixner
2011-02-05  1:07     ` Nick Bowler
2011-02-04  3:28   ` Yong Zhang
2011-02-04  9:34   ` [tip:timers/urgent] " tip-bot for Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 2/4] timer: Provide mod_timer_on() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 3/4] workqueue: Use mod_timer for queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 16:19   ` Tejun Heo [this message]
2011-02-03 16:45     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2011-02-03 17:45     ` Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-04 11:13       ` Tejun Heo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20110203161906.GG2570@htj.dyndns.org \
    --to=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com \
    --cc=a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=faisal.latif@intel.com \
    --cc=hal.rosenstock@gmail.com \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=mfasheh@suse.com \
    --cc=roland@kernel.org \
    --cc=rubini@cvml.unipv.it \
    --cc=sean.hefty@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=yong.zhang0@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).