LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
To: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Faisal Latif <faisal.latif@intel.com>,
	Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org>,
	Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>,
	Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>,
	Alessandro Rubini <rubini@cvml.unipv.it>,
	Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>,
	Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>, Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls
Date: Thu, 3 Feb 2011 08:45:49 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20110203164549.GA12802@core.coreip.homeip.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20110203161906.GG2570@htj.dyndns.org>

On Thu, Feb 03, 2011 at 05:19:06PM +0100, Tejun Heo wrote:
> Hello, Peter.
> 
> On Thu, Feb 03, 2011 at 03:09:44PM +0100, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> > Since queue_delayed_work() can now deal with existing timers, we don't
> > need to explicitly call cancel_delayed_work() anymore.
> 
> This is nice but there's small complication with the way
> queue_delayed_work() behaves.  If a delayed work item is already
> pending, another queue_delayed_work() doesn't modify the delay whether
> the new delay is longer or shorter than the current one.  The previous
> patch doesn't really change the behavior as the whole thing is gated
> with WORK_STRUCT_PENDING_BIT.
> 
> So, cancel_delayed_work() followed by queue_delayed_work() schedules
> the work to be executed at the specified time regardless of the
> current pending state while queue_delayed_work() takes effect iff
> currently the work item is not pending.
> 
> The current behavior is weird and it often is easier to use explicit
> timer + work item if the timer needs to be modified, but it has been
> that way from the beginning so I don't think changing it would be a
> good idea.  We can introduce a new interface (mod_delayed_work()
> maybe) for this tho.
> 

I agree. If we were to change queue_delayed_work() we'd have to verify
that all users that do not presently use cancel_delayed_work() in
reschedule would be OK with the new behavior.

Thanks.

-- 
Dmitry

  reply	other threads:[~2011-02-03 16:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2011-02-03 14:09 [PATCH 0/4] del_timer_sync() and queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 1/4] lockdep, timer: Fix del_timer_sync() annotation Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 15:35   ` Thomas Gleixner
2011-02-05  1:07     ` Nick Bowler
2011-02-04  3:28   ` Yong Zhang
2011-02-04  9:34   ` [tip:timers/urgent] " tip-bot for Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 2/4] timer: Provide mod_timer_on() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 3/4] workqueue: Use mod_timer for queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 16:19   ` Tejun Heo
2011-02-03 16:45     ` Dmitry Torokhov [this message]
2011-02-03 17:45     ` Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-04 11:13       ` Tejun Heo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20110203164549.GA12802@core.coreip.homeip.net \
    --to=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com \
    --cc=a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=faisal.latif@intel.com \
    --cc=hal.rosenstock@gmail.com \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=mfasheh@suse.com \
    --cc=roland@kernel.org \
    --cc=rubini@cvml.unipv.it \
    --cc=sean.hefty@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=yong.zhang0@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).