LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Nick Bowler <nbowler@elliptictech.com>
To: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Faisal Latif <faisal.latif@intel.com>,
	Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org>,
	Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>,
	Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Alessandro Rubini <rubini@cvml.unipv.it>,
	Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>,
	Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>, Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/4] lockdep, timer: Fix del_timer_sync() annotation
Date: Fri, 4 Feb 2011 20:07:55 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20110205010755.GA4000@elliptictech.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <alpine.LFD.2.00.1102031634270.31804@localhost6.localdomain6>

On 2011-02-03 16:35 +0100, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> On Thu, 3 Feb 2011, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> > Calling local_bh_enable() will want to actually start processing
> > softirqs, which isn't a good idea since this can get called with IRQs
> > disabled.
> > 
> > Cure this by using _local_bh_enable() which doesn't start processing
> > softirqs, and use raw_local_irq_save() to avoid any softirqs from
> > happending without letting lockdep think IRQs are in fact disabled.
> > 
> > Reported-by: Nick Bowler <nbowler@elliptictech.com>
> 
> Nick, can you please test ?

Yes, this patch seems to solve the issue.

Thanks,
-- 
Nick Bowler, Elliptic Technologies (http://www.elliptictech.com/)

  reply	other threads:[~2011-02-05  1:09 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2011-02-03 14:09 [PATCH 0/4] del_timer_sync() and queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 1/4] lockdep, timer: Fix del_timer_sync() annotation Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 15:35   ` Thomas Gleixner
2011-02-05  1:07     ` Nick Bowler [this message]
2011-02-04  3:28   ` Yong Zhang
2011-02-04  9:34   ` [tip:timers/urgent] " tip-bot for Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 2/4] timer: Provide mod_timer_on() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 3/4] workqueue: Use mod_timer for queue_delayed_work() Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 14:09 ` [PATCH 4/4] workqueue: Remove now superfluous cancel_delayed_work() calls Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-03 16:19   ` Tejun Heo
2011-02-03 16:45     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2011-02-03 17:45     ` Peter Zijlstra
2011-02-04 11:13       ` Tejun Heo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20110205010755.GA4000@elliptictech.com \
    --to=nbowler@elliptictech.com \
    --cc=Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com \
    --cc=a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=faisal.latif@intel.com \
    --cc=hal.rosenstock@gmail.com \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=mfasheh@suse.com \
    --cc=roland@kernel.org \
    --cc=rubini@cvml.unipv.it \
    --cc=sean.hefty@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=yong.zhang0@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/4] lockdep, timer: Fix del_timer_sync() annotation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).