LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>
To: Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com>
Cc: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel.garcia@free-electrons.com>,
	Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>,
	Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com>,
	Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com>,
	linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org,
	Boris Brezillon <boris@free-electrons.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas@free-electrons.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Tawfik Bayouk <tawfik@marvell.com>,
	Nadav Haklai <nadavh@marvell.com>,
	Lior Amsalem <alior@marvell.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Sudhakar Gundubogula <sudhakar@marvell.com>,
	Seif Mazareeb <seif@marvell.com>,
	stable@vger.kernel.org, Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/2] mtd: nand: pxa3xx: Fix PIO FIFO draining
Date: Fri, 6 Feb 2015 21:33:46 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150206203346.GI2079@lukather> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20150206193859.GP18140@ld-irv-0074>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 1172 bytes --]

On Fri, Feb 06, 2015 at 11:38:59AM -0800, Brian Norris wrote:
> > > An alternative would be to move this part into the read/write_buf
> > > functions, but that's a lot of work...
> > > 
> > 
> > Yeah, indeed. This also has other benefits. As we discussed on IRC, it
> > would allow to support raw writes (i.e. ECC off).
> 
> OK. This is probably a good work item for later. But let's get back on
> point.
> 
> I'd like to see version 2 with the following:
> 
> 1. For sure the jiffies loop needs to be rewritten
> 
> 2. Optionally, the RDDREQ bit should be checked less often, per the
>    datasheet and Boris's comments
> 
> Maxime, would that be OK?

Yep. I actually worked on these two issues just today.

It looks like I blew my boards' bootloader in the process, so it might
take so time.

> Then maybe I can get this into 3.20. Maybe not in my primary -rc1
> pullreq, if we haven't had enough time to look at and test v2, but ASAP.
> Only after than am I likely to take Rob's ARM64 cleanup.

Sounds good, thanks!

Maxime

-- 
Maxime Ripard, Free Electrons
Embedded Linux, Kernel and Android engineering
http://free-electrons.com

[-- Attachment #2: Digital signature --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 819 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2015-02-06 20:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-01-26 14:56 [PATCH v2 0/2] ARM: mvebu: a385-db-ap: Enable the NAND controller Maxime Ripard
2015-01-26 14:56 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] mtd: nand: pxa3xx: Fix PIO FIFO draining Maxime Ripard
2015-02-04  9:13   ` Maxime Ripard
2015-02-04 10:10   ` Boris Brezillon
2015-02-06  1:08     ` Brian Norris
2015-02-06  8:13       ` Boris Brezillon
2015-02-06  8:33         ` Brian Norris
2015-02-06 14:17         ` Ezequiel Garcia
2015-02-06 19:38           ` Brian Norris
2015-02-06 20:33             ` Maxime Ripard [this message]
2015-01-26 14:56 ` [PATCH v2 2/2] ARM: mvebu: a385-db-ap: Enable the NAND Maxime Ripard
2015-01-28  2:06   ` Ezequiel Garcia

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150206203346.GI2079@lukather \
    --to=maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=alior@marvell.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=boris@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=computersforpeace@gmail.com \
    --cc=ezequiel.garcia@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=gregory.clement@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=jason@lakedaemon.net \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=nadavh@marvell.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com \
    --cc=seif@marvell.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=sudhakar@marvell.com \
    --cc=tawfik@marvell.com \
    --cc=thomas@free-electrons.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 1/2] mtd: nand: pxa3xx: Fix PIO FIFO draining' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).