LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>
Cc: Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@codeaurora.org>,
	Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb
Date: Tue, 3 Mar 2015 12:50:33 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150303125033.GO21293@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1425356740-26285-3-git-send-email-bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 765 bytes --]

On Mon, Mar 02, 2015 at 08:25:38PM -0800, Bjorn Andersson wrote:

> Expose the newly created init_data to the driver's parse callback so
> that it can futher enhance it with e.g. constraints of the regulator.

Why would the driver need to do that?  I guess I'll see later on in the
series but the changelog should make that clear.  Drivers aren't
supposed to ever need to look at their init data, modifying the init
data from what the machine provied is usually a red flag.

> This is needed because calling regulator_register() with a of_node and
> of_match will overwrite the passed config->init_data. An alternative way
> would be to merge the parsed init_data with the driver provided one.

Put any explanation as to why the feature is needed in the changelog.

[-- Attachment #2: Digital signature --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 473 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-03 12:50 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-03  4:25 [PATCH 0/4] Refactor Qualcomm RPM regulator to single platform_device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 1/4] mfd: devicetree: bindings: Add Qualcomm RPM regulator subnodes Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:47   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:02     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:33       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 18:53   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 21:54     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:02       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:17         ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:25           ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:50   ` Mark Brown [this message]
2015-03-03 16:15     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:42       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 14:13   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:26     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 18:56   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:07     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:09   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:32     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:52       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04  0:01         ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04  0:09           ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04 19:35   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04 23:51     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:56       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  0:30     ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  1:46       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-05 10:38         ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150303125033.GO21293@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk \
    --cc=k.kozlowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pawel.moll@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).