LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>
Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@codeaurora.org>,
	Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>,
	Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code
Date: Tue, 3 Mar 2015 14:13:21 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150303141321.GQ21293@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1425356740-26285-4-git-send-email-bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 702 bytes --]

On Mon, Mar 02, 2015 at 08:25:39PM -0800, Bjorn Andersson wrote:

> +	if ((vreg->parts->uV.mask || vreg->parts->mV.mask) &&
> +	    (!initdata->constraints.min_uV || !initdata->constraints.max_uV)) {
> +		dev_err(&pdev->dev, "no voltage specified for regulator\n");
> +		return -EINVAL;
> +	}

OK, so it looks like we're using it because we can't read the initial
hardware state - can we introduce a specific interface for that perhaps?
A call to query the current constraints might do it.  Or possibly just
change your earlier patch to make sure the constraints are marked const
would do it, reading them isn't the problem that modifying them is.  I
might've missed some other usage somewhere though.

[-- Attachment #2: Digital signature --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 473 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-03 14:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-03  4:25 [PATCH 0/4] Refactor Qualcomm RPM regulator to single platform_device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 1/4] mfd: devicetree: bindings: Add Qualcomm RPM regulator subnodes Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:47   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:02     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:33       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 18:53   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 21:54     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:02       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:17         ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:25           ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:50   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:15     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:42       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 14:13   ` Mark Brown [this message]
2015-03-03 16:26     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 18:56   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:07     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:09   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:32     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:52       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04  0:01         ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04  0:09           ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04 19:35   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04 23:51     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:56       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  0:30     ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  1:46       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-05 10:38         ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150303141321.GQ21293@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk \
    --cc=k.kozlowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pawel.moll@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).