LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>
To: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@codeaurora.org>,
	Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>,
	Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org" <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device
Date: Tue, 3 Mar 2015 14:32:35 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150303223235.GK26334@sonymobile.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <54F630FF.60109@codeaurora.org>

On Tue 03 Mar 14:09 PST 2015, Stephen Boyd wrote:

> On 03/02/15 20:25, Bjorn Andersson wrote:
> > -	config.of_node = pdev->dev.of_node;
> > +static int rpm_reg_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
> > +{
> > +	const struct rpm_regulator_data *reg;
> > +	const struct of_device_id *match;
> > +	struct regulator_config config = { };
> > +	struct regulator_dev *rdev;
> > +	struct qcom_rpm_reg *vreg;
> >  
> > -	ret = rpm_reg_of_parse(pdev->dev.of_node, &vreg->desc,
> > -			       &config, initdata);
> > -	if (ret)
> > -		return ret;
> > +	match = of_match_device(rpm_of_match, &pdev->dev);
> > +	for (reg = match->data; reg->name; reg++) {
> 
> How does this work for the case where we may not want to add all the
> regulators that a PMIC supports. I'm mostly thinking about the case
> where we want to use the pm8xxx-regulator driver for a few regulators
> and so we omit them from the DT for the RPM regulators.
> 

An empty or non-existing regulator of_node will still be registered, but
without REGULATOR_CHANGE_STATUS nor REGULATOR_CHANGE_VOLTAGE; so any
operation on this regulator will fail with an -EPERM.

Regards,
Bjorn

  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-03 22:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-03  4:25 [PATCH 0/4] Refactor Qualcomm RPM regulator to single platform_device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 1/4] mfd: devicetree: bindings: Add Qualcomm RPM regulator subnodes Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:47   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:02     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:33       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 18:53   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 21:54     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:02       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:17         ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:25           ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:50   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:15     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:42       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 14:13   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:26     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 18:56   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:07     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:09   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:32     ` Bjorn Andersson [this message]
2015-03-03 23:52       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04  0:01         ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04  0:09           ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04 19:35   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04 23:51     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:56       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  0:30     ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  1:46       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-05 10:38         ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150303223235.GK26334@sonymobile.com \
    --to=bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com \
    --cc=agross@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk \
    --cc=k.kozlowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pawel.moll@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).