LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: akpm@linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Hector Marco-Gisbert" <hecmargi@upv.es>,
	"Ismael Ripoll" <iripoll@upv.es>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	"Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Martin Schwidefsky" <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	linux390@de.ibm.com, x86@kernel.org,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Oleg Nesterov" <oleg@redhat.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@amacapital.net>,
	"David A. Long" <dave.long@linaro.org>,
	"Andrey Ryabinin" <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>,
	"Arun Chandran" <achandran@mvista.com>,
	"Min-Hua Chen" <orca.chen@gmail.com>,
	"Dan McGee" <dpmcgee@gmail.com>,
	"Yann Droneaud" <ydroneaud@opteya.com>,
	"Paul Burton" <paul.burton@imgtec.com>,
	"Alex Smith" <alex@alex-smith.me.uk>,
	"Markos Chandras" <markos.chandras@imgtec.com>,
	"Vineeth Vijayan" <vvijayan@mvista.com>,
	"Jeff Bailey" <jeffbailey@google.com>,
	"Michael Holzheu" <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Ben Hutchings" <ben@decadent.org.uk>,
	"Behan Webster" <behanw@converseincode.com>,
	"Jan-Simon Möller" <dl9pf@gmx.de>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR
Date: Mon, 9 Mar 2015 16:19:12 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150309161912.GW8656@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1425435025-30284-1-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org>

On Tue, Mar 03, 2015 at 06:10:15PM -0800, Kees Cook wrote:
> To address the "offset2lib" ASLR weakness[1], this separates ET_DYN
> ASLR from mmap ASLR, as already done on s390. The architectures
> that are already randomizing mmap (arm, arm64, mips, powerpc, s390,
> and x86), have their various forms of arch_mmap_rnd() made available
> via the new CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ELF_RANDOMIZE. For these architectures,
> arch_randomize_brk() is collapsed as well.
> 
> This is an alternative to the solutions in:
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2015/2/23/442
> 
> I've been able to test x86 and arm, and the buildbot (so far) seems
> happy with building the rest.

Hmm, do you want to wrap my acks up to your previous one into this set?
What about my tested-by?

I'd rather not waste time testing this version if my previous test is
still valid (or if there's yet another version of this patch set which
is later than this set.)

Unless I hear anything, I'll assume that it's broadly the same as the
previous patch set and requires no action.

-- 
FTTC broadband for 0.8mile line: currently at 10.5Mbps down 400kbps up
according to speedtest.net.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2015-03-09 16:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-04  2:10 Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 01/10] arm: factor out mmap ASLR into mmap_rnd Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 02/10] x86: standardize mmap_rnd() usage Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 03/10] arm64: " Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 04/10] mips: extract logic for mmap_rnd() Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 05/10] powerpc: standardize mmap_rnd() usage Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 06/10] s390: " Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 07/10] mm: expose arch_mmap_rnd when available Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 08/10] s390: redefine randomize_et_dyn for ELF_ET_DYN_BASE Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 09/10] mm: split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 10/10] mm: fold arch_randomize_brk into ARCH_HAS_ELF_RANDOMIZE Kees Cook
2015-03-09 16:19 ` Russell King - ARM Linux [this message]
2015-03-09 18:06   ` [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150309161912.GW8656@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk \
    --to=linux@arm.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=a.ryabinin@samsung.com \
    --cc=achandran@mvista.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex@alex-smith.me.uk \
    --cc=behanw@converseincode.com \
    --cc=ben@decadent.org.uk \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dave.long@linaro.org \
    --cc=dl9pf@gmx.de \
    --cc=dpmcgee@gmail.com \
    --cc=hecmargi@upv.es \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=iripoll@upv.es \
    --cc=jeffbailey@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux390@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=markos.chandras@imgtec.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=orca.chen@gmail.com \
    --cc=paul.burton@imgtec.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vvijayan@mvista.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ydroneaud@opteya.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).