LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.cz>
To: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Omar Sandoval <osandov@osandov.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org,
	ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org, linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org,
	osd-dev@open-osd.org, linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net,
	fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, cluster-devel@redhat.com,
	jfs-discussion@lists.sourceforge.net, HPDD-discuss@ml01.01.org,
	linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org, linux-nilfs@vger.kernel.org,
	ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com, reiserfs-devel@vger.kernel.org,
	v9fs-developer@lists.sourceforge.net, xfs@oss.sgi.com,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>,
	Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>, David Sterba <dsterba@suse.cz>,
	Yan Zheng <zyan@redhat.com>, Sage Weil <sage@redhat.com>,
	Steve French <sfrench@samba.org>,
	Boaz Harrosh <ooo@electrozaur.com>,
	Benny Halevy <bhalevy@primarydata.com>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>,
	Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca>,
	Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org>,
	Changman Lee <cm224.lee@samsung.com>,
	Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>,
	Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@kernel.org>,
	Oleg Drokin <oleg.drokin@intel.com>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@primarydata.com>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	Ryusuke Konishi <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>,
	Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>, Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	Eric Van Hensbergen <ericvh@gmail.com>,
	Ron Minnich <rminnich@sandia.gov>,
	Latchesar Ionkov <lucho@ionkov.net>,
	Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 1/5] new helper: iov_iter_rw()
Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2015 10:31:51 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150317093151.GS20767@twin.jikos.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20150316173605.GX29656@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>

On Mon, Mar 16, 2015 at 05:36:05PM +0000, Al Viro wrote:
> On Mon, Mar 16, 2015 at 04:33:49AM -0700, Omar Sandoval wrote:
> > Get either READ or WRITE out of iter->type.
> 
> Umm...  
> 
> > + * Get one of READ or WRITE out of iter->type without any other flags OR'd in
> > + * with it.
> > + */
> > +static inline int iov_iter_rw(const struct iov_iter *i)
> > +{
> > +	return i->type & RW_MASK;
> > +}
> 
> TBH, I would turn that into a macro.  Reason: indirect includes.

Agreed, but the proposed define is rather cryptic and I was not able to
understand the meaning on the first glance.

> #define iov_iter_rw(i) ((0 ? (struct iov_iter *)0 : (i))->type & RW_MASK)

This worked for me, does not compile with anything else than
'struct iov_iter*' as i:

#define iov_iter_rw(i)	({			\
	struct iov_iter __iter = *(i);		\
	(i)->type & RW_MASK;			\
	})

The assignment is optimized out.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2015-03-17  9:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-16 11:33 [RFC PATCH 0/5] Remove rw parameter from direct_IO() Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH 1/5] new helper: iov_iter_rw() Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 17:36   ` Al Viro
2015-03-17  1:20     ` [RFC PATCH v2 " Omar Sandoval
2015-03-17  9:31     ` David Sterba [this message]
2015-03-17 10:18       ` [RFC PATCH " Omar Sandoval
2015-03-17 18:19       ` Al Viro
2015-03-17 21:04         ` [RFC PATCH v3 " Omar Sandoval
2015-03-18 13:42           ` David Sterba
2015-03-16 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH 2/5] Remove rw from {,__,do_}blockdev_direct_IO() Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH 3/5] Remove rw from dax_{do_,}io() Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH 4/5] direct_IO: use iov_iter_rw() instead of rw everywhere Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH 5/5] direct_IO: remove rw from a_ops->direct_IO() Omar Sandoval
2015-03-16 18:15 ` [RFC PATCH 0/5] Remove rw parameter from direct_IO() Al Viro
2015-04-05 16:27 ` Al Viro

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150317093151.GS20767@twin.jikos.cz \
    --to=dsterba@suse.cz \
    --cc=HPDD-discuss@ml01.01.org \
    --cc=adilger.kernel@dilger.ca \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=bhalevy@primarydata.com \
    --cc=ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=clm@fb.com \
    --cc=cluster-devel@redhat.com \
    --cc=cm224.lee@samsung.com \
    --cc=david@fromorbit.com \
    --cc=ericvh@gmail.com \
    --cc=fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=jaegeuk@kernel.org \
    --cc=jbacik@fb.com \
    --cc=jfs-discussion@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp \
    --cc=linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nilfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lucho@ionkov.net \
    --cc=mfasheh@suse.com \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com \
    --cc=oleg.drokin@intel.com \
    --cc=ooo@electrozaur.com \
    --cc=osandov@osandov.com \
    --cc=osd-dev@open-osd.org \
    --cc=reiserfs-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rminnich@sandia.gov \
    --cc=sage@redhat.com \
    --cc=sfrench@samba.org \
    --cc=shaggy@kernel.org \
    --cc=swhiteho@redhat.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@primarydata.com \
    --cc=tytso@mit.edu \
    --cc=v9fs-developer@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=xfs@oss.sgi.com \
    --cc=zyan@redhat.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 1/5] new helper: iov_iter_rw()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).