LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	Jaehoon Chung <jh80.chung@samsung.com>,
	Seungwon Jeon <tgih.jun@samsung.com>,
	Alexandru Stan <amstan@chromium.org>,
	Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@samsung.com>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@chromium.org>,
	Andrew Bresticker <abrestic@chromium.org>,
	Addy Ke <addy.ke@rock-chips.com>,
	Javier Martinez Canillas <javier.martinez@collabora.co.uk>,
	"open list:ARM/Rockchip SoC..."
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Chris Ball <chris@printf.net>,
	Johan Rudholm <johan.rudholm@axis.com>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Tim Kryger <tim.kryger@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Gabbasov <andrew_gabbasov@mentor.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	linux-mmc <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/4] mmc: core: Add mmc_regulator_set_vqmmc()
Date: Thu, 19 Mar 2015 11:36:46 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150319113646.GQ2869@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPDyKFrkznbW7k_=BDo99jJhWzDbUgbeU+MXWB_E_UWXh=56Eg@mail.gmail.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 771 bytes --]

On Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 12:14:11PM +0100, Ulf Hansson wrote:

> Agree. Moreover we need that API to also pick the closest value to
> target, when trying the range "target->minimum". I also believe it

The implementation *should* do that anyway, it's just not trivial to
implement in an efficient fashion with the current information we have
from drivers.

> would be good to allow both upper and lower limits to be zero.

The lower limit can be zero already though it isn't clear to me that
this is useful.  Setting an upper limit of zero seems nonsensical, an
upper limit that is lower than the lower limit isn't terribly obvious
and removing the upper limit isn't safe - it means that we'll happily
oversupply things which is a road to physical damage.

[-- Attachment #2: Digital signature --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 473 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-19 11:37 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-11 22:15 [PATCH v4 1/4] mmc: dw_mmc: Don't try to enable the CD until we're sure we're not deferring Doug Anderson
2015-03-11 22:15 ` [PATCH v4 2/4] mmc: core: Add mmc_regulator_set_vqmmc() Doug Anderson
2015-03-16 14:05   ` Ulf Hansson
2015-03-16 15:12     ` Doug Anderson
2015-03-17 10:23       ` Ulf Hansson
2015-03-17 10:38         ` Mark Brown
2015-03-17 11:28           ` Ulf Hansson
2015-03-19  4:09         ` Doug Anderson
2015-03-19 11:14           ` Ulf Hansson
2015-03-19 11:36             ` Mark Brown [this message]
2015-03-20 10:55               ` Ulf Hansson
2015-03-20 11:28                 ` Mark Brown
2015-04-07 20:05                   ` Doug Anderson
2015-04-08 11:28                     ` Mark Brown
2015-03-11 22:15 ` [PATCH v4 3/4] mmc: dw_mmc: Use mmc_regulator_set_vqmmc in start_signal_voltage_switch Doug Anderson
2015-03-11 22:15 ` [PATCH v4 4/4] ARM: dts: Specify VMMC and VQMMC on rk3288-evb Doug Anderson
2015-03-11 23:30   ` Heiko Stuebner
2015-04-07 21:37     ` Heiko Stübner
2015-03-13 11:32 ` [PATCH v4 1/4] mmc: dw_mmc: Don't try to enable the CD until we're sure we're not deferring Jaehoon Chung
2015-03-13 12:10   ` Heiko Stuebner
2015-03-16  2:09     ` Jaehoon Chung
2015-03-27  5:55 ` Jaehoon Chung
2015-03-27 15:46   ` Doug Anderson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150319113646.GQ2869@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=abrestic@chromium.org \
    --cc=addy.ke@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=alim.akhtar@samsung.com \
    --cc=amstan@chromium.org \
    --cc=andrew_gabbasov@mentor.com \
    --cc=chris@printf.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=javier.martinez@collabora.co.uk \
    --cc=jh80.chung@samsung.com \
    --cc=johan.rudholm@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sonnyrao@chromium.org \
    --cc=tgih.jun@samsung.com \
    --cc=tim.kryger@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 2/4] mmc: core: Add mmc_regulator_set_vqmmc()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).