LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
To: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Heinrich Schuchardt <xypron.glpk@gmx.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@redhat.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>,
	Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Fabian Frederick <fabf@skynet.be>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>,
	Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Michael Marineau <mike@marineau.org>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@parallels.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4 v6] kernel/fork.c: avoid division by zero
Date: Wed, 25 Mar 2015 13:25:15 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20150325122515.GA3369@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20150318170655.GA30545@redhat.com>


* Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> wrote:

> On 03/18, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> >
> > But ... no strong feelings from me, I'm not NAK-ing it or anything,
> > maybe I'd have used this well-known pattern:
> >
> > 	threads = min(max(MIN_THREADS, threads), MAX_THREADS);
> >
> > instead of:
> >
> > > >> +	if (threads > MAX_THREADS)
> > > >> +		threads = MAX_THREADS;
> > > >> +
> > > >> +	if (threads < MIN_THREADS)
> > > >> +		threads = MIN_THREADS;
> 
> 	clamp(threads, MIN_THREADS, MAX_THREADS)
> 
> ;)

Indeed ;-)

Thanks,

	Ingo

  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-25 12:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-15 16:13 [PATCH 0/4 v6] max_threadx handling Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-15 16:13 ` [PATCH 1/4 v6] kernel/fork.c: new function for max_threads Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-15 16:13 ` [PATCH 2/4 v6] kernel/fork.c: avoid division by zero Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-16  7:41   ` Ingo Molnar
2015-03-17 19:19     ` Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-18 16:49       ` Ingo Molnar
2015-03-18 17:06         ` Oleg Nesterov
2015-03-25 12:25           ` Ingo Molnar [this message]
2015-03-15 16:13 ` [PATCH 3/4 v6] kernel/sysctl.c: threads-max observe limits Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-15 16:13 ` [PATCH 4/4 v6] Doc/sysctl/kernel.txt: document threads-max Heinrich Schuchardt
2015-03-15 16:30   ` Guenter Roeck
2015-03-25 18:59 ` [PATCH 0/4 v6] max_threadx handling Heinrich Schuchardt

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20150325122515.GA3369@gmail.com \
    --to=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=atomlin@redhat.com \
    --cc=axboe@fb.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave@stgolabs.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=fabf@skynet.be \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=mike@marineau.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=prarit@redhat.com \
    --cc=riel@redhat.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rusty@rustcorp.com.au \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vdavydov@parallels.com \
    --cc=xypron.glpk@gmx.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/4 v6] kernel/fork.c: avoid division by zero' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).