LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy@infradead.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Platform Driver <platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>, Dave Olsthoorn <dave@bewaar.me>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	mfuzzey@parkeon.com, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	nbroeking@me.com, Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Torsten Duwe <duwe@suse.de>,
	"maintainer:X86 ARCHITECTURE (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)"
	<x86@kernel.org>, linux-efi <linux-efi@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 3/5] platform/x86: Rename silead_dmi to touchscreen_dmi
Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2018 17:20:30 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180420002030.GD11546@fury> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75Vdx0fJ0mmE1tSZjKEoHbRMubJpA8M1QYg1joKxMdLcVig@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Apr 09, 2018 at 11:07:03AM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Sun, Apr 8, 2018 at 8:40 PM, Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com> wrote:
> > Not only silead touchscreens need some extra info not available in the
> > ACPI tables to work properly. X86 devices with a Chipone ICN8505 chip also
> > need some DMI based extra configuration.
> >
> > There is no reason to have separate dmi config code per touchscreen
> > controller vendor. This commit renames silead_dmi to a more generic
> > touchscreen_dmi name (and Kconfig option) in preparation of adding
> > info for tablets with an ICN8505 based touchscreen.
> >
> > Note there are no functional changes all code changes are limited to
> > removing references to silead where these are no longer applicable.
> >
> 
> I have no objections from my side, though consider the following:
> - I would like to be in sync with Darren on this
> - make oldconfig will be broken after your change for existing users
> - the usual pattern in kernel that we don't rename drivers; I guess
> here we are on the safe side b/c this driver is used standalone
> 
> Taking above into attention, and assuming it will go via some other tree,
> Acked-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>

This driver is all kinds of a special case, so no objection here either. :-)

-- 
Darren Hart
VMware Open Source Technology Center

  reply	other threads:[~2018-04-20  0:20 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 36+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-08 17:40 [PATCH v3 0/5] efi/firmware/platform-x86: Add EFI embedded fw support Hans de Goede
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 1/5] efi: Export boot-services code and data as debugfs-blobs Hans de Goede
2018-04-16  8:23   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-04-24 13:11     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-23 11:55   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support Hans de Goede
2018-04-16  8:28   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-04-24 13:17     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-17  0:17   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-17  8:58     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-17  9:19     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-23 21:11   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-24 15:09     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-24 16:07       ` Mimi Zohar
2018-04-24 18:33         ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-24 23:42         ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-25  5:00           ` Mimi Zohar
2018-04-25 17:55             ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04  0:21               ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04 15:26                 ` Martijn Coenen
2018-05-04 19:44               ` Martijn Coenen
2018-05-08 15:38                 ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-08 16:10                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-07 16:49                     ` Bjorn Andersson
2018-06-07 18:22                       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-01 19:23                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-06 20:32                     ` Do Qualcomm drivers use DMA buffers for request_firmware_into_buf()? Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-07 16:18                       ` Bjorn Andersson
     [not found]                         ` <CAKv+Gu8+Fq7BD4XD-YCyXzZh0mg6Z2k-0styj0cw6_uZfaqy4Q@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]                           ` <20180607163308.GA18834@kroah.com>
2018-06-08  6:41                             ` Vlastimil Babka
2018-06-07 16:33             ` [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support Bjorn Andersson
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 3/5] platform/x86: Rename silead_dmi to touchscreen_dmi Hans de Goede
2018-04-09  8:07   ` Andy Shevchenko
2018-04-20  0:20     ` Darren Hart [this message]
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 4/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add EFI embedded firmware info support Hans de Goede
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 5/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add info for the Chuwi Vi8 Plus tablet Hans de Goede
2018-04-09  8:10   ` Andy Shevchenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180420002030.GD11546@fury \
    --to=dvhart@infradead.org \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=andy@infradead.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=duwe@suse.de \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=matt@codeblueprint.co.uk \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mfuzzey@parkeon.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nbroeking@me.com \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 3/5] platform/x86: Rename silead_dmi to touchscreen_dmi' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).