LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: "Clark Williams" <williams@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Adrian Hunter" <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	"Alexander Potapenko" <glider@google.com>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Alexei Starovoitov" <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com>,
	"Alexey Budankov" <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>,
	"Andi Kleen" <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	"Andrey Ryabinin" <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@kernel.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Brian Robbins" <brianrob@microsoft.com>,
	"Daniel Borkmann" <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	"David Ahern" <dsahern@gmail.com>,
	"Dmitriy Vyukov dvyukov @ google . com" <dvyukov@google.com>,
	"Dominik Brodowski" <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"Hendrik Brueckner" <brueckner@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Jesper Dangaard Brouer" <brouer@redhat.com>,
	"Jin Yao" <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Josh Poimboeuf" <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	"Kan Liang" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	"Kate Stewart" <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Kim Phillips" <kim.phillips@arm.com>,
	"Krister Johansen" <kjlx@templeofstupid.com>,
	"Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	"Li Zhijian" <lizhijian@cn.fujitsu.com>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Martin Liška" <mliska@suse.cz>,
	"Martin Schwidefsky" <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	"Masami Hiramatsu" <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	"Mathieu Poirier" <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	"Matthias Kaehlcke" <mka@chromium.org>,
	"Michal Hocko" <mhocko@suse.com>,
	"Miguel Bernal Marin" <miguel.bernal.marin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Naveen N . Rao" <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Philippe Ombredanne" <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	"Ravi Bangoria" <ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Sandipan Das" <sandipan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Sihyeon Jang" <uneedsihyeon@gmail.com>,
	"Stephane Eranian" <eranian@google.com>,
	"Stephen Rothwell" <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Takuya Yamamoto" <tkydevel@gmail.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Thomas Richter" <tmricht@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Wang Nan" <wangnan0@huawei.com>,
	"William Cohen" <wcohen@redhat.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, "Yonghong Song" <yhs@fb.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@redhat.com>
Subject: [GIT PULL 00/17] perf/urgent fixes and improvements
Date: Fri, 20 Apr 2018 11:32:10 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180420143227.16030-1-acme@kernel.org> (raw)

Hi Ingo,

	Please consider pulling, this took longer than I expected
due to the syscall rename fallout :-\

- Arnaldo

The following changes since commit 5c8dad48e4f53d6fd0a7e4f95d7c1c983374de88:

  trace_kprobe: Remove warning message "Could not insert probe at..." (2018-04-17 07:54:57 +0200)

are available in the Git repository at:

  git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/acme/linux.git tags/perf-urgent-for-mingo-4.17-20180420

for you to fetch changes up to 8a9fd8323087e794f1d3cd4850b393ced048bc73:

  coresight: Move to SPDX identifier (2018-04-19 12:29:41 -0300)

----------------------------------------------------------------
perf/urgent fixes and improvements:

- Store context switch out type in PERF_RECORD_SWITCH[_CPU_WIDE].
  The percentage of preempting and non-preempting context switches help
  understanding the nature of workloads (CPU or IO bound) that are running
  on a machine. This adds the kernel facility and userspace changes needed
  to show this information in 'perf script' and 'perf report -D' (Alexey Budankov)

- Remove old error messages about things that unlikely to be the root cause
  in modern systems (Andi Kleen)

- Synchronize kernel ABI headers, v4.17-rc1 (Ingo Molnar)

- Support MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE, noticed when updating the tools/include/
  copies (Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo)

- Fixup BPF test using epoll_pwait syscall function probe, to cope with
  the syscall routines renames performed in this development cycle (Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo)

- Fix sample_max_stack maximum check and do not proceed when an error
  has been detect, return them to avoid misidentifying errors (Jiri Olsa)

- Add '\n' at the end of parse-options error messages (Ravi Bangoria)

- Add s390 support for detailed/verbose PMU event description (Thomas Richter)

Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

----------------------------------------------------------------
Alexey Budankov (3):
      perf/core: Store context switch out type in PERF_RECORD_SWITCH[_CPU_WIDE]
      perf report: Extend raw dump (-D) out with switch out event type
      perf script: Extend misc field decoding with switch out event type

Andi Kleen (4):
      perf mem: Allow all record/report options
      perf hists browser: Clarify top/report browser help
      perf record: Remove misleading error suggestion
      perf record: Remove suggestion to enable APIC

Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo (3):
      perf trace: Support MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE
      perf tests mmap: Show which tracepoint is failing
      perf test BPF: Fixup BPF test using epoll_pwait syscall function probe

Ingo Molnar (1):
      tools/headers: Synchronize kernel ABI headers, v4.17-rc1

Jiri Olsa (3):
      perf: Return proper values for user stack errors
      perf: Fix sample_max_stack maximum check
      perf: Remove superfluous allocation error check

Mathieu Poirier (1):
      coresight: Move to SPDX identifier

Ravi Bangoria (1):
      perf tools: Add '\n' at the end of parse-options error messages

Thomas Richter (1):
      perf list: Add s390 support for detailed/verbose PMU event description

 include/linux/coresight-pmu.h                     |  13 +-
 include/uapi/linux/perf_event.h                   |  18 +-
 kernel/events/callchain.c                         |  25 +-
 kernel/events/core.c                              |   8 +-
 tools/arch/arm/include/uapi/asm/kvm.h             |   9 +
 tools/arch/x86/include/asm/required-features.h    |   8 +-
 tools/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/kvm.h             |  19 +-
 tools/include/linux/coresight-pmu.h               |  13 +-
 tools/include/uapi/asm-generic/mman-common.h      |   3 +
 tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h                    |   1 +
 tools/include/uapi/linux/if_link.h                |  39 ++
 tools/include/uapi/linux/kvm.h                    |  21 +-
 tools/include/uapi/linux/perf_event.h             |  18 +-
 tools/include/uapi/sound/asound.h                 |   1 +
 tools/lib/subcmd/parse-options.c                  |   6 +-
 tools/perf/Documentation/perf-mem.txt             |   3 +
 tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt          |  17 +-
 tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c               |  13 +-
 tools/perf/arch/arm/util/cs-etm.c                 |  13 +-
 tools/perf/arch/arm/util/cs-etm.h                 |  13 +-
 tools/perf/arch/arm/util/pmu.c                    |  13 +-
 tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile                      |   2 +-
 tools/perf/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl | 712 +++++++++++-----------
 tools/perf/builtin-mem.c                          |   4 +-
 tools/perf/builtin-script.c                       |   5 +-
 tools/perf/tests/bpf-script-example.c             |   2 +-
 tools/perf/tests/mmap-basic.c                     |   2 +-
 tools/perf/trace/beauty/mmap.c                    |   3 +
 tools/perf/ui/browsers/hists.c                    |   2 +-
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm-decoder/cs-etm-decoder.c   |   3 +-
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c                          |   3 +-
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm.h                          |  13 +-
 tools/perf/util/event.c                           |   4 +-
 tools/perf/util/evsel.c                           |   6 +-
 tools/perf/util/pmu.c                             |   6 +
 35 files changed, 545 insertions(+), 496 deletions(-)

             reply	other threads:[~2018-04-20 14:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-20 14:32 Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo [this message]
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 02/17] perf/core: Store context switch out type in PERF_RECORD_SWITCH[_CPU_WIDE] Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 03/17] perf report: Extend raw dump (-D) out with switch out event type Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 04/17] perf script: Extend misc field decoding " Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 05/17] perf list: Add s390 support for detailed/verbose PMU event description Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 06/17] perf: Return proper values for user stack errors Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 07/17] perf: Fix sample_max_stack maximum check Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 08/17] perf: Remove superfluous allocation error check Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 09/17] perf trace: Support MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 10/17] perf mem: Allow all record/report options Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 11/17] perf hists browser: Clarify top/report browser help Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 12/17] perf record: Remove misleading error suggestion Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 13/17] perf record: Remove suggestion to enable APIC Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 14/17] perf tools: Add '\n' at the end of parse-options error messages Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 15/17] perf tests mmap: Show which tracepoint is failing Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 16/17] perf test BPF: Fixup BPF test using epoll_pwait syscall function probe Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-20 14:32 ` [PATCH 17/17] coresight: Move to SPDX identifier Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-04-21  7:39 ` [GIT PULL 00/17] perf/urgent fixes and improvements Ingo Molnar

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180420143227.16030-1-acme@kernel.org \
    --to=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=acme@redhat.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=brianrob@microsoft.com \
    --cc=brouer@redhat.com \
    --cc=brueckner@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=dsahern@gmail.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@arm.com \
    --cc=kjlx@templeofstupid.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@dominikbrodowski.net \
    --cc=lizhijian@cn.fujitsu.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=miguel.bernal.marin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mka@chromium.org \
    --cc=mliska@suse.cz \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=sandipan@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sfr@canb.auug.org.au \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tkydevel@gmail.com \
    --cc=tmricht@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=uneedsihyeon@gmail.com \
    --cc=wangnan0@huawei.com \
    --cc=wcohen@redhat.com \
    --cc=williams@redhat.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --subject='Re: [GIT PULL 00/17] perf/urgent fixes and improvements' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).