LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com>
To: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	C Shapiro <shapiroc@chromium.org>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@chromium.org>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Alex Hung <alex.hung@canonical.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>,
	sayli karnik <karniksayli1995@gmail.com>,
	Sagar Dharia <sdharia@codeaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] firmware: dmi: Add access to the SKU ID string
Date: Thu, 26 Apr 2018 15:03:24 +0530	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180426093324.GV6014@localhost> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPnjgZ1ExEQHL8W2+k=+wS98O3CCX25dKngv_PFNvgAKVBD4Hw@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Apr 25, 2018 at 03:17:37PM -0600, Simon Glass wrote:
> Hi Vinod,
> 
> On 24 April 2018 at 20:51, Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com> wrote:
> > On Tue, Apr 24, 2018 at 03:11:11PM -0600, Simon Glass wrote:
> >> This is used in some systems from user space for determining the identity
> >> of the device.
> >>
> >> Expose this as a file so that that user-space tools don't need to read
> >> from /sys/firmware/dmi/tables/DMI
> >
> > sysfs is an ABI and needs to be documented, I don't see that in this patch,
> > pls add.
> 
> Thanks for taking a look. The only mention of the dmi/id I can find is
> in Kconfig:

Sorry I should have been explicit. All sysfs entries are ABI to userspace.
So they are documented in kernel and the meaning of files should not
typically get modfied over time.
Please read Documentation/ABI/README

For DMI, quick grep told me you should add to
Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-firmware-dmi-tables

HTH
-- 
~Vinod

  reply	other threads:[~2018-04-26  9:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-24 21:11 Simon Glass
2018-04-25  2:51 ` Vinod Koul
2018-04-25 21:17   ` Simon Glass
2018-04-26  9:33     ` Vinod Koul [this message]
2018-04-26 11:01       ` Jean Delvare
2018-04-27  7:58 ` Jean Delvare
2018-04-27 19:12   ` Simon Glass

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180426093324.GV6014@localhost \
    --to=vinod.koul@intel.com \
    --cc=adurbin@chromium.org \
    --cc=alex.hung@canonical.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jdelvare@suse.com \
    --cc=karniksayli1995@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=sdharia@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=shapiroc@chromium.org \
    --cc=sjg@chromium.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] firmware: dmi: Add access to the SKU ID string' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).