LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
To: linux-media@vger.kernel.org, devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Ramesh Shanmugasundaram <ramesh.shanmugasundaram@bp.renesas.com>,
	Yannick Fertre <yannick.fertre@st.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Hugues Fruchet <hugues.fruchet@st.com>,
	Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@gmail.com>,
	Florent Revest <florent.revest@free-electrons.com>,
	Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	Ricardo Ribalda Delgado <ricardo.ribalda@gmail.com>,
	Smitha T Murthy <smitha.t@samsung.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>,
	Randy Li <ayaka@soulik.info>
Subject: [PATCH v3 10/14] dt-bindings: media: Document bindings for the Sunxi-Cedrus VPU driver
Date: Mon,  7 May 2018 14:44:56 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180507124500.20434-11-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180507124500.20434-1-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>

This adds a device-tree binding document that specifies the properties
used by the Sunxi-Cedurs VPU driver, as well as examples.

Signed-off-by: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
---
 .../devicetree/bindings/media/sunxi-cedrus.txt     | 58 ++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 58 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/sunxi-cedrus.txt

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/sunxi-cedrus.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/sunxi-cedrus.txt
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..4c3f2b596ded
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/sunxi-cedrus.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,58 @@
+Device-tree bindings for the VPU found in Allwinner SoCs, referred to as the
+Video Engine (VE) in Allwinner literature.
+
+The VPU can only access the first 256 MiB of DRAM, that are DMA-mapped starting
+from the DRAM base. This requires specific memory allocation and handling.
+
+Required properties:
+- compatible		: must be one of the following compatibles:
+			- "allwinner,sun4i-a10-video-engine"
+			- "allwinner,sun5i-a13-video-engine"
+			- "allwinner,sun7i-a20-video-engine"
+			- "allwinner,sun8i-a33-video-engine"
+- reg			: register base and length of VE;
+- clocks		: list of clock specifiers, corresponding to entries in
+			  the clock-names property;
+- clock-names		: should contain "ahb", "mod" and "ram" entries;
+- assigned-clocks	: list of clocks assigned to the VE;
+- assigned-clocks-rates	: list of clock rates for the clocks assigned to the VE;
+- resets		: phandle for reset;
+- interrupts		: VE interrupt number;
+- allwinner,sram	: SRAM region to use with the VE.
+
+Optional properties:
+- memory-region		: CMA pool to use for buffers allocation instead of the
+			  default CMA pool.
+
+Example:
+
+reserved-memory {
+	#address-cells = <1>;
+	#size-cells = <1>;
+	ranges;
+
+	/* Address must be kept in the lower 256 MiBs of DRAM for VE. */
+	cma_pool: cma@4a000000 {
+		compatible = "shared-dma-pool";
+		size = <0x6000000>;
+		alloc-ranges = <0x4a000000 0x6000000>;
+		reusable;
+		linux,cma-default;
+	};
+};
+
+video-codec@1c0e000 {
+	compatible = "allwinner,sun7i-a20-video-engine";
+	reg = <0x01c0e000 0x1000>;
+
+	clocks = <&ccu CLK_AHB_VE>, <&ccu CLK_VE>,
+		 <&ccu CLK_DRAM_VE>;
+	clock-names = "ahb", "mod", "ram";
+
+	assigned-clocks = <&ccu CLK_VE>;
+	assigned-clock-rates = <320000000>;
+
+	resets = <&ccu RST_VE>;
+	interrupts = <GIC_SPI 53 IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_HIGH>;
+	allwinner,sram = <&ve_sram 1>;
+};
-- 
2.16.3

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-05-07 12:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-07 12:44 [PATCH v3 00/14] Sunxi-Cedrus driver for the Allwinner Video Engine, using media requests Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 01/14] drivers: soc: sunxi: Add support for the C1 SRAM region Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 02/14] drivers: soc: sunxi: Add dedicated compatibles for the A13, A20 and A33 Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-11  5:05   ` Chen-Yu Tsai
2018-05-11 10:20     ` Maxime Ripard
2018-06-14 13:02       ` Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 03/14] ARM: dts: sun5i: Use dedicated SRAM controller compatible Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 04/14] ARM: dts: sun7i-a20: " Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 05/14] ARM: sun5i: Add support for the C1 SRAM region with the SRAM controller Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 06/14] ARM: sun7i-a20: " Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 07/14] ARM: sun8i-a33: Add SRAM controller node and C1 SRAM region Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 08/14] media: v4l: Add definitions for MPEG2 frame format and header metadata Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 13:49   ` Hans Verkuil
2018-05-07 13:52     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-17  4:00   ` kbuild test robot
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 09/14] media: v4l: Add definition for Allwinner's MB32-tiled NV12 format Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 13:50   ` Hans Verkuil
2018-05-07 12:44 ` Paul Kocialkowski [this message]
2018-05-07 14:18   ` [PATCH v3 10/14] dt-bindings: media: Document bindings for the Sunxi-Cedrus VPU driver Rob Herring
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 11/14] media: platform: Add Sunxi-Cedrus VPU decoder driver Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 14:02   ` Hans Verkuil
2018-06-14 15:47     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 15:42   ` Maxime Ripard
2018-06-14 15:39     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 18:03   ` kbuild test robot
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 12/14] ARM: dts: sun5i: Add Video Engine and reserved memory nodes Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:44 ` [PATCH v3 13/14] ARM: dts: sun7i-a20: " Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 12:45 ` [PATCH v3 14/14] ARM: dts: sun8i-a33: " Paul Kocialkowski
2018-05-07 14:50 ` [PATCH v3 00/14] Sunxi-Cedrus driver for the Allwinner Video Engine, using media requests Paul Kocialkowski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180507124500.20434-11-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --to=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ayaka@soulik.info \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=florent.revest@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=gnurou@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hans.verkuil@cisco.com \
    --cc=hugues.fruchet@st.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=ramesh.shanmugasundaram@bp.renesas.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=ricardo.ribalda@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.nawrocki@samsung.com \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=smitha.t@samsung.com \
    --cc=stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=yannick.fertre@st.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 10/14] dt-bindings: media: Document bindings for the Sunxi-Cedrus VPU driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).