LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
* [PATCH] kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil: remove stale comment
@ 2018-05-09  8:40 Juri Lelli
  2018-05-09  8:41 ` Viresh Kumar
  0 siblings, 1 reply; 3+ messages in thread
From: Juri Lelli @ 2018-05-09  8:40 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: rafael.j.wysocki, peterz
  Cc: linux-kernel, linux-pm, Juri Lelli, Ingo Molnar, Viresh Kumar,
	Claudio Scordino, Luca Abeni

After commit 794a56ebd9a57 ("sched/cpufreq: Change the worker kthread to
SCHED_DEADLINE") schedutil kthreads are "ignored" for a clock frequency
selection point of view, so the potential corner case for RT tasks is not
possible at all now.

Remove the stale comment mentioning it.

Signed-off-by: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
Cc: Luca Abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>
---
 kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c | 13 -------------
 1 file changed, 13 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
index d2c6083304b4..23ef19070137 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
@@ -396,19 +396,6 @@ static void sugov_irq_work(struct irq_work *irq_work)
 
 	sg_policy = container_of(irq_work, struct sugov_policy, irq_work);
 
-	/*
-	 * For RT tasks, the schedutil governor shoots the frequency to maximum.
-	 * Special care must be taken to ensure that this kthread doesn't result
-	 * in the same behavior.
-	 *
-	 * This is (mostly) guaranteed by the work_in_progress flag. The flag is
-	 * updated only at the end of the sugov_work() function and before that
-	 * the schedutil governor rejects all other frequency scaling requests.
-	 *
-	 * There is a very rare case though, where the RT thread yields right
-	 * after the work_in_progress flag is cleared. The effects of that are
-	 * neglected for now.
-	 */
 	kthread_queue_work(&sg_policy->worker, &sg_policy->work);
 }
 
-- 
2.14.3

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] 3+ messages in thread

end of thread, other threads:[~2018-05-13  8:40 UTC | newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2018-05-09  8:40 [PATCH] kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil: remove stale comment Juri Lelli
2018-05-09  8:41 ` Viresh Kumar
2018-05-13  8:40   ` Rafael J. Wysocki

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).