LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
To: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Robert Walker <Robert.Walker@arm.com>,
	Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>,
	Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@arm.com>, Tor Jeremiassen <tor@ti.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	coresight@lists.linaro.org
Subject: Re: [RFT v3 1/4] perf cs-etm: Generate branch sample for missed packets
Date: Wed, 30 May 2018 22:49:22 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180530144922.GB12368@leoy-ThinkPad-X240s> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CANLsYkzPShMj1cbXZPb7Lzio+gKcmvhD2+KTYr7vP9ec1d6bmg@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, May 30, 2018 at 08:45:46AM -0600, Mathieu Poirier wrote:
> On 29 May 2018 at 18:28, Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org> wrote:
> > Hi Mathieu,
> >
> > On Tue, May 29, 2018 at 10:04:49AM -0600, Mathieu Poirier wrote:
> >
> > [...]
> >
> >> > As now this patch is big with more complex logic, so I consider to
> >> > split it into small patches:
> >> >
> >> > - Define CS_ETM_INVAL_ADDR;
> >> > - Fix for CS_ETM_TRACE_ON packet;
> >> > - Fix for exception packet;
> >> >
> >> > Does this make sense for you?  I have concern that this patch is a
> >> > fixing patch, so not sure after spliting patches will introduce
> >> > trouble for applying them for other stable kernels ...
> >>
> >> Reverse the order:
> >>
> >> - Fix for CS_ETM_TRACE_ON packet;
> >> - Fix for exception packet;
> >> - Define CS_ETM_INVAL_ADDR;
> >>
> >> But you may not need to - see next comment.
> >
> > From the discussion context, I think here 'you may not need to' is
> > referring to my concern for applying patches on stable kernel, so I
> > should take this patch series as an enhancement and don't need to
> > consider much for stable kernel.
> 
> Yes, that is what I meant.

Thanks for confirmation, will send new patch series according to the
discussion.

[...]

Thanks,
Leo Yan

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-30 14:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-28  8:44 [RFT v3 0/4] Perf script: Add python script for CoreSight trace disassembler Leo Yan
2018-05-28  8:45 ` [RFT v3 1/4] perf cs-etm: Generate branch sample for missed packets Leo Yan
2018-05-28 22:13   ` Mathieu Poirier
2018-05-29  0:25     ` Leo Yan
2018-05-29 16:04       ` Mathieu Poirier
2018-05-30  0:28         ` Leo Yan
2018-05-30 14:45           ` Mathieu Poirier
2018-05-30 14:49             ` Leo Yan [this message]
2018-05-30  9:45     ` Robert Walker
2018-05-30 15:04       ` Mike Leach
2018-05-30 15:39         ` Leo Yan
2018-05-30 15:49           ` Leo Yan
2018-05-28  8:45 ` [RFT v3 2/4] perf script python: Add addr into perf sample dict Leo Yan
2018-05-31 10:45   ` [tip:perf/urgent] " tip-bot for Leo Yan
2018-05-28  8:45 ` [RFT v3 3/4] perf script python: Add script for CoreSight trace disassembler Leo Yan
2018-05-28  8:45 ` [RFT v3 4/4] coresight: Document " Leo Yan
2018-05-28 20:03 ` [RFT v3 0/4] Perf script: Add python script " Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2018-05-28 21:53   ` Mathieu Poirier
2018-05-29 13:32     ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180530144922.GB12368@leoy-ThinkPad-X240s \
    --to=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=Robert.Walker@arm.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=coresight@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@arm.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mike.leach@linaro.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tor@ti.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFT v3 1/4] perf cs-etm: Generate branch sample for missed packets' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).