LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
To: linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Zhou Wang <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>,
	Niklas Cassel <niklas.cassel@axis.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Jianguo Sun <sunjianguo1@huawei.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>,
	Tanmay Inamdar <tinamdar@apm.com>,
	Ryder Lee <ryder.lee@mediatek.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] PCI: Remove host driver Kconfig selection of CONFIG_PCIEPORTBUS
Date: Wed, 30 May 2018 11:45:57 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180530164557.GH39853@bhelgaas-glaptop.roam.corp.google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <152668266782.118010.15462515170612275250.stgit@bhelgaas-glaptop.roam.corp.google.com>

On Fri, May 18, 2018 at 05:31:07PM -0500, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
> From: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> 
> Host bridge drivers do not use the portdrv interfaces (struct pcie_device,
> struct pcie_port_service_driver, pcie_port_service_register(), etc), and
> they should not select CONFIG_PCIEPORTBUS.
> 
> If users need the portdrv services, they can select CONFIG_PCIEPORTBUS just
> like all other PCI users.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>

I applied this to pci/kconfig for v4.18.

> ---
>  drivers/pci/dwc/Kconfig  |   10 ----------
>  drivers/pci/host/Kconfig |    2 --
>  2 files changed, 12 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/dwc/Kconfig b/drivers/pci/dwc/Kconfig
> index 2f3f5c50aa48..678390a77ba1 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/dwc/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/pci/dwc/Kconfig
> @@ -68,7 +68,6 @@ config PCI_EXYNOS
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on SOC_EXYNOS5440
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  
>  config PCI_IMX6
> @@ -76,7 +75,6 @@ config PCI_IMX6
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on SOC_IMX6Q
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  
>  config PCIE_SPEAR13XX
> @@ -84,7 +82,6 @@ config PCIE_SPEAR13XX
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on ARCH_SPEAR13XX
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want PCIe support on SPEAr13XX SoCs.
> @@ -94,7 +91,6 @@ config PCI_KEYSTONE
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on ARCH_KEYSTONE
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want to enable PCI controller support on Keystone
> @@ -117,7 +113,6 @@ config PCI_HISI
>  	bool "HiSilicon Hip05 and Hip06 SoCs PCIe controllers"
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	select PCI_HOST_COMMON
>  	help
> @@ -129,7 +124,6 @@ config PCIE_QCOM
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on ARCH_QCOM && OF
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here to enable PCIe controller support on Qualcomm SoCs. The
> @@ -141,7 +135,6 @@ config PCIE_ARMADA_8K
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on ARCH_MVEBU
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want to enable PCIe controller support on
> @@ -156,7 +149,6 @@ config PCIE_ARTPEC6_HOST
>  	bool "Axis ARTPEC-6 PCIe controller Host Mode"
>  	depends on MACH_ARTPEC6
>  	depends on PCI && PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	select PCIE_ARTPEC6
>  	help
> @@ -178,7 +170,6 @@ config PCIE_KIRIN
>  	bool "HiSilicon Kirin series SoCs PCIe controllers"
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
>  	depends on PCI
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want PCIe controller support
> @@ -189,7 +180,6 @@ config PCIE_HISI_STB
>  	depends on ARCH_HISI
>  	depends on PCI
>  	depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	select PCIE_DW_HOST
>  	help
>            Say Y here if you want PCIe controller support on HiSilicon STB SoCs
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/host/Kconfig b/drivers/pci/host/Kconfig
> index 0d0177ce436c..90f0cc9dfd95 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/host/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/pci/host/Kconfig
> @@ -83,7 +83,6 @@ config PCI_XGENE
>  	bool "X-Gene PCIe controller"
>  	depends on ARM64
>  	depends on OF || (ACPI && PCI_QUIRKS)
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want internal PCI support on APM X-Gene SoC.
>  	  There are 5 internal PCIe ports available. Each port is GEN3 capable
> @@ -194,7 +193,6 @@ config PCIE_MEDIATEK
>  	depends on (ARM || ARM64) && (ARCH_MEDIATEK || COMPILE_TEST)
>  	depends on OF
>  	depends on PCI
> -	select PCIEPORTBUS
>  	help
>  	  Say Y here if you want to enable PCIe controller support on
>  	  MediaTek SoCs.
> 

      reply	other threads:[~2018-05-30 16:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-18 22:31 Bjorn Helgaas
2018-05-30 16:45 ` Bjorn Helgaas [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180530164557.GH39853@bhelgaas-glaptop.roam.corp.google.com \
    --to=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=niklas.cassel@axis.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=ryder.lee@mediatek.com \
    --cc=shawn.guo@linaro.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=sunjianguo1@huawei.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=tinamdar@apm.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] PCI: Remove host driver Kconfig selection of CONFIG_PCIEPORTBUS' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).