LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
To: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: "Martijn Coenen" <maco@android.com>,
	"Andy Gross" <andy.gross@linaro.org>,
	"David Brown" <david.brown@linaro.org>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Mimi Zohar" <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"Vikram Mulukutla" <markivx@codeaurora.org>,
	"Arve Hjønnevåg" <arve@android.com>,
	"Todd Kjos" <tkjos@android.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org,
	"Chris Wright" <chrisw@sous-sol.org>,
	"David Howells" <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	"Alan Cox" <alan@linux.intel.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Hans de Goede" <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"Darren Hart" <dvhart@infradead.org>,
	"Andy Shevchenko" <andy@infradead.org>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Peter Jones" <pjones@redhat.com>,
	"Dave Olsthoorn" <dave@bewaar.me>,
	"Will Deacon" <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@kernel.org>,
	"Matt Fleming" <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>,
	"Josh Triplett" <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com, mfuzzey@parkeon.com,
	"Kalle Valo" <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	"Arend Van Spriel" <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>,
	"Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	nbroeking@me.com, "Torsten Duwe" <duwe@suse.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-efi <linux-efi@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:ANDROID DRIVERS" <devel@driverdev.osuosl.org>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support
Date: Fri, 1 Jun 2018 21:23:46 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20180601192346.GQ4511@wotan.suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180508153805.GC27853@wotan.suse.de>

On Tue, May 08, 2018 at 03:38:05PM +0000, Luis R. Rodriguez wrote:
> On Fri, May 04, 2018 at 12:44:37PM -0700, Martijn Coenen wrote:
> > On Wed, Apr 25, 2018 at 10:55 AM, Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org> wrote:
> > > Is ptr below
> > >
> > >         ret = request_firmware_into_buf(&seg_fw, fw_name, dev,
> > >                                         ptr, phdr->p_filesz);
> > >
> > > Also part of the DMA buffer allocated earlier via:
> > >
> > >         ret = qcom_scm_pas_init_image(pas_id, fw->data, fw->size);
> > >
> > > Android folks?
> > 
> > I think the Qualcomm folks owning this (Andy, David, Bjorn, already
> > cc'd here) are better suited to answer that question.
> 
> Andy, David, Bjorn?

Andy, David, Bjorn?

Note: as-is we have no option but to assume this is DMA memory for now.
We cannot keep IMA's guarantees with the current prealloc firmware API
buffer, so I've suggested:

a) The prealloc buffer API be expanded to enable the caller to descrbe it
b) Have the qcom driver say this is DMA
c) IMA would reject it to ensure it stays true to what it needs to gaurantee

d) Future platforms which want to use IMA but want to trust DMA buffers
   would need to devise a way to describe IMA can trust some of these
   calls.

I'll leave it up to you guys (Andy, David, Bjorn) to come up with the code for
d) once and if you guys want to use IMA later.  But since what is pressing here
is to stay to true to IMA, with a-c IMA would reject such calls for now.

  Luis

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-06-01 19:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 36+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-08 17:40 [PATCH v3 0/5] efi/firmware/platform-x86: Add EFI embedded fw support Hans de Goede
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 1/5] efi: Export boot-services code and data as debugfs-blobs Hans de Goede
2018-04-16  8:23   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-04-24 13:11     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-23 11:55   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support Hans de Goede
2018-04-16  8:28   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-04-24 13:17     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-17  0:17   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-17  8:58     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-17  9:19     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-23 21:11   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-24 15:09     ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-24 16:07       ` Mimi Zohar
2018-04-24 18:33         ` Hans de Goede
2018-04-24 23:42         ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-04-25  5:00           ` Mimi Zohar
2018-04-25 17:55             ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04  0:21               ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-04 15:26                 ` Martijn Coenen
2018-05-04 19:44               ` Martijn Coenen
2018-05-08 15:38                 ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-08 16:10                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-07 16:49                     ` Bjorn Andersson
2018-06-07 18:22                       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-01 19:23                   ` Luis R. Rodriguez [this message]
2018-06-06 20:32                     ` Do Qualcomm drivers use DMA buffers for request_firmware_into_buf()? Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-07 16:18                       ` Bjorn Andersson
     [not found]                         ` <CAKv+Gu8+Fq7BD4XD-YCyXzZh0mg6Z2k-0styj0cw6_uZfaqy4Q@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]                           ` <20180607163308.GA18834@kroah.com>
2018-06-08  6:41                             ` Vlastimil Babka
2018-06-07 16:33             ` [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support Bjorn Andersson
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 3/5] platform/x86: Rename silead_dmi to touchscreen_dmi Hans de Goede
2018-04-09  8:07   ` Andy Shevchenko
2018-04-20  0:20     ` Darren Hart
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 4/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add EFI embedded firmware info support Hans de Goede
2018-04-08 17:40 ` [PATCH v3 5/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add info for the Chuwi Vi8 Plus tablet Hans de Goede
2018-04-09  8:10   ` Andy Shevchenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180601192346.GQ4511@wotan.suse.de \
    --to=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alan@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andy.gross@linaro.org \
    --cc=andy@infradead.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com \
    --cc=arve@android.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=chrisw@sous-sol.org \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=david.brown@linaro.org \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=duwe@suse.de \
    --cc=dvhart@infradead.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=maco@android.com \
    --cc=markivx@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=matt@codeblueprint.co.uk \
    --cc=mfuzzey@parkeon.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nbroeking@me.com \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tkjos@android.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).