LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>, Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@android.com>,
	Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	CHANDAN VN <chandan.vn@samsung.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org (moderated list:ARM64 PORT
	(AARCH64 ARCHITECTURE)),
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org (open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND
	FLATTENED DEVICE TREE),
	rppt@linux.ibm.com, linux@armlinux.org.uk, green.hu@gmail.com,
	deanbo422@gmail.com, gxt@pku.edu.cn, ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Subject: [PATCH 0/6]  arm64: Get rid of __early_init_dt_declare_initrd()
Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2018 16:52:00 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20181029235206.30060-1-f.fainelli@gmail.com> (raw)

Hi all,

The numbers no longer make any sense since I either did not correctly
understand the feedback being given, or dramatically changed the
approach.

This version introduces an architecture symbol: ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD
which indicates whether the architecture cares/supports parsing the
physical address of the initrd. Currently ARM (32-bit), Unicore32 and
now ARM64 support that.

When that symbol is defined, we also have the generic FDT code populate
the initrd physical address and size, and we can later make use of that
within architecture specific code to populate the memblock regions and
do the righ physical to virtual address conversion.

Rob, hopefully this is what you had in mind.

Previous discussions/submissions list here:

v3:
https://www.spinics.net/lists/arm-kernel/msg683566.html
v2:
https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/10/25/4


Florian Fainelli (6):
  nds32: Remove phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size
  arch: Make phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size global variables
  arch: Define ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD for ARM and Unicore32
  of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT
  arm64: Utilize ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD
  of/fdt: Remove definition check for __early_init_dt_declare_initrd()

 arch/Kconfig                    |  7 +++++++
 arch/arm/Kconfig                |  1 +
 arch/arm/mm/init.c              |  6 +++---
 arch/arm64/Kconfig              |  1 +
 arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h |  8 --------
 arch/arm64/mm/init.c            | 23 +++++++++++------------
 arch/nds32/mm/init.c            |  2 --
 arch/unicore32/Kconfig          |  1 +
 arch/unicore32/mm/init.c        |  4 ++--
 drivers/of/fdt.c                |  6 ++++--
 include/linux/initrd.h          |  3 +++
 11 files changed, 33 insertions(+), 29 deletions(-)

-- 
2.17.1


             reply	other threads:[~2018-10-29 23:52 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-10-29 23:52 Florian Fainelli [this message]
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 1/6] nds32: Remove phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 2/6] arch: Make phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size global variables Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 15:10   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 3/6] arch: Define ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD for ARM and Unicore32 Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 4/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30  9:32   ` Russell King - ARM Linux
2018-10-30 15:16   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 5/6] arm64: Utilize ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 6/6] of/fdt: Remove definition check for __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20181029235206.30060-1-f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --to=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chandan.vn@samsung.com \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=ghackmann@android.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=stefan@agner.ch \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/6]  arm64: Get rid of __early_init_dt_declare_initrd()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).