LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>, Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@android.com>,
	Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	CHANDAN VN <chandan.vn@samsung.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org (moderated list:ARM64 PORT
	(AARCH64 ARCHITECTURE)),
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org (open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND
	FLATTENED DEVICE TREE),
	rppt@linux.ibm.com, linux@armlinux.org.uk, green.hu@gmail.com,
	deanbo422@gmail.com, gxt@pku.edu.cn, ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Subject: [PATCH 3/6] arch: Define ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD for ARM and Unicore32
Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2018 16:52:03 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20181029235206.30060-4-f.fainelli@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20181029235206.30060-1-f.fainelli@gmail.com>

Make ARM and Unicore32 select ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD meaning that they do
define phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size and make use of it.

Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
---
 arch/Kconfig           | 7 +++++++
 arch/arm/Kconfig       | 1 +
 arch/unicore32/Kconfig | 1 +
 3 files changed, 9 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
index 9d329608913e..0926f8291782 100644
--- a/arch/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/Kconfig
@@ -865,6 +865,13 @@ config HAVE_ARCH_PREL32_RELOCATIONS
 	  architectures, and don't require runtime relocation on relocatable
 	  kernels.
 
+config ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD
+	bool
+	help
+	  An architecture selects this when it needs to act on the physical
+	  address of the initial ramdisk and allow generic code such as
+	  FDT to populate that address.
+
 source "kernel/gcov/Kconfig"
 
 source "scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig"
diff --git a/arch/arm/Kconfig b/arch/arm/Kconfig
index e8cd55a5b04c..b87c40701b0e 100644
--- a/arch/arm/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm/Kconfig
@@ -11,6 +11,7 @@ config ARM
 	select ARCH_HAS_KCOV
 	select ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_SYNC_CORE
 	select ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL if ARM_LPAE
+	select ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD
 	select ARCH_HAS_PHYS_TO_DMA
 	select ARCH_HAS_SET_MEMORY
 	select ARCH_HAS_STRICT_KERNEL_RWX if MMU && !XIP_KERNEL
diff --git a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
index 0c5111b206bd..28a66ae61dcf 100644
--- a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
@@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
 config UNICORE32
 	def_bool y
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEVMEM_IS_ALLOWED
+	select ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD
 	select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_PARPORT
 	select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_SERIO
 	select DMA_DIRECT_OPS
-- 
2.17.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-10-29 23:52 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-10-29 23:52 [PATCH 0/6] arm64: Get rid of __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 1/6] nds32: Remove phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 2/6] arch: Make phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size global variables Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 15:10   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` Florian Fainelli [this message]
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 4/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30  9:32   ` Russell King - ARM Linux
2018-10-30 15:16   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 5/6] arm64: Utilize ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 6/6] of/fdt: Remove definition check for __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20181029235206.30060-4-f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --to=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chandan.vn@samsung.com \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=ghackmann@android.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=stefan@agner.ch \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 3/6] arch: Define ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD for ARM and Unicore32' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).