LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
To: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>, Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@android.com>,
	Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	CHANDAN VN <chandan.vn@samsung.com>,
	"moderated list:ARM64 PORT (AARCH64 ARCHITECTURE)" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE" 
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	rppt@linux.ibm.com, green.hu@gmail.com, deanbo422@gmail.com,
	gxt@pku.edu.cn, ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT
Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2018 09:32:39 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20181030093239.GJ30658@n2100.armlinux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20181029235206.30060-5-f.fainelli@gmail.com>

On Mon, Oct 29, 2018 at 04:52:04PM -0700, Florian Fainelli wrote:
> If the architecture implements ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD, make the FDT
> scanning code populate the physical address of the start of the FDT and
> its size.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
> ---
>  arch/arm/mm/init.c | 2 +-
>  drivers/of/fdt.c   | 4 ++++
>  2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/init.c b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
> index 8f364aa24172..517e95cfb5d2 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/mm/init.c
> +++ b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
> @@ -237,7 +237,7 @@ static void __init arm_initrd_init(void)
>  	phys_addr_t start;
>  	unsigned long size;
>  
> -	/* FDT scan will populate initrd_start */
> +	/* FDT scan will populate initrd_start and phys_initrd_start */
>  	if (initrd_start && !phys_initrd_size) {
>  		phys_initrd_start = __virt_to_phys(initrd_start);
>  		phys_initrd_size = initrd_end - initrd_start;

We should be able to delete the whole if () { } block and comment as
a result of this series - it was added by Rob in 65939301acdb to
unify the DT initrd code.

-- 
RMK's Patch system: http://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTC broadband for 0.8mile line in suburbia: sync at 12.1Mbps down 622kbps up
According to speedtest.net: 11.9Mbps down 500kbps up

  reply	other threads:[~2018-10-30  9:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-10-29 23:52 [PATCH 0/6] arm64: Get rid of __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 1/6] nds32: Remove phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 2/6] arch: Make phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size global variables Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 15:10   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 3/6] arch: Define ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD for ARM and Unicore32 Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 4/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30  9:32   ` Russell King - ARM Linux [this message]
2018-10-30 15:16   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 5/6] arm64: Utilize ARCH_HAS_PHYS_INITRD Florian Fainelli
2018-10-29 23:52 ` [PATCH 6/6] of/fdt: Remove definition check for __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20181030093239.GJ30658@n2100.armlinux.org.uk \
    --to=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chandan.vn@samsung.com \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=ghackmann@android.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=stefan@agner.ch \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).