LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>, Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@android.com>,
	Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	CHANDAN VN <chandan.vn@samsung.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org (moderated list:ARM64 PORT
	(AARCH64 ARCHITECTURE)),
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org (open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND
	FLATTENED DEVICE TREE),
	rppt@linux.ibm.com, linux@armlinux.org.uk, green.hu@gmail.com,
	deanbo422@gmail.com, gxt@pku.edu.cn, ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, vgupta@synopsys.com
Subject: [PATCH v2 3/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT
Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2018 16:07:18 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20181030230721.28429-4-f.fainelli@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20181030230721.28429-1-f.fainelli@gmail.com>

Now that we have central and global variables holding the physical
address and size of the initrd, we can have
early_init_dt_check_for_initrd() populate
phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size for us.

This allows us to remove a chunk of code from arch/arm/mm/init.c
introduced with commit 65939301acdb ("arm: set initrd_start/initrd_end
for fdt scan").

Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
---
 arch/arm/mm/init.c | 6 ------
 drivers/of/fdt.c   | 2 ++
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/init.c b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
index 87d59a53861d..4bfa08e27319 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mm/init.c
@@ -236,12 +236,6 @@ static void __init arm_initrd_init(void)
 	phys_addr_t start;
 	unsigned long size;
 
-	/* FDT scan will populate initrd_start */
-	if (initrd_start && !phys_initrd_size) {
-		phys_initrd_start = __virt_to_phys(initrd_start);
-		phys_initrd_size = initrd_end - initrd_start;
-	}
-
 	initrd_start = initrd_end = 0;
 
 	if (!phys_initrd_size)
diff --git a/drivers/of/fdt.c b/drivers/of/fdt.c
index 76c83c1ffeda..e34cb49231b5 100644
--- a/drivers/of/fdt.c
+++ b/drivers/of/fdt.c
@@ -925,6 +925,8 @@ static void __init early_init_dt_check_for_initrd(unsigned long node)
 	end = of_read_number(prop, len/4);
 
 	__early_init_dt_declare_initrd(start, end);
+	phys_initrd_start = start;
+	phys_initrd_size = end - start;
 
 	pr_debug("initrd_start=0x%llx  initrd_end=0x%llx\n",
 		 (unsigned long long)start, (unsigned long long)end);
-- 
2.17.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-10-30 23:07 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-10-30 23:07 [PATCH v2 0/6] arm64: Get rid of __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 23:07 ` [PATCH v2 1/6] nds32: Remove phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 23:07 ` [PATCH v2 2/6] arch: Make phys_initrd_start and phys_initrd_size global variables Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 23:07 ` Florian Fainelli [this message]
2018-10-30 23:07 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] arm64: Utilize phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size Florian Fainelli
2018-10-31  7:03   ` Mike Rapoport
2018-10-31 17:33     ` Florian Fainelli
2018-10-30 23:07 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] of/fdt: Remove custom __early_init_dt_declare_initrd() implementation Florian Fainelli
2018-10-31 12:29   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-30 23:07 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] arch: Move initrd= parsing into do_mounts_initrd.c Florian Fainelli

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20181030230721.28429-4-f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --to=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chandan.vn@samsung.com \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=ghackmann@android.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=stefan@agner.ch \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 3/6] of/fdt: Populate phys_initrd_start/phys_initrd_size from FDT' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).