LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
To: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()
Date: Mon, 13 May 2019 08:38:19 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190513003819.356-2-hsinyi@chromium.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190513003819.356-1-hsinyi@chromium.org>

Currently in arm64, FDT is mapped to RO before it's passed to
early_init_dt_scan(). However, there might be some code that needs
to modify FDT during init. Map FDT to RW until unflatten DT.

Signed-off-by: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
---
 arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c | 9 ++++++++-
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
index 413d566405d1..08b22c1e72a9 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
@@ -179,9 +179,13 @@ static void __init smp_build_mpidr_hash(void)
 		pr_warn("Large number of MPIDR hash buckets detected\n");
 }
 
+extern void *__init __fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys, int *size,
+				       pgprot_t prot);
+
 static void __init setup_machine_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys)
 {
-	void *dt_virt = fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys);
+	int size;
+	void *dt_virt = __fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys, &size, PAGE_KERNEL);
 	const char *name;
 
 	if (!dt_virt || !early_init_dt_scan(dt_virt)) {
@@ -320,6 +324,9 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
 	/* Parse the ACPI tables for possible boot-time configuration */
 	acpi_boot_table_init();
 
+	/* remap fdt to RO */
+	fixmap_remap_fdt(__fdt_pointer);
+
 	if (acpi_disabled)
 		unflatten_device_tree();
 
-- 
2.20.1


  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-13  0:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-13  0:38 [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  0:38 ` Hsin-Yi Wang [this message]
2019-05-13  8:58   ` [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 11:14     ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-14 15:42       ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-15 10:24         ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-15 20:11           ` Ard Biesheuvel
2019-05-16 11:07             ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-14 21:05       ` Stephen Boyd
2019-05-15  5:00         ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-15 10:34           ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  8:42 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 13:14 ` Rob Herring
2019-05-15  9:07   ` Hsin-Yi Wang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190513003819.356-2-hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --to=hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).