LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
To: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
Cc: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Architecture Mailman List <boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()
Date: Wed, 15 May 2019 08:00:59 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190515050059.GA4081@rapoport-lnx> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <155786794318.14659.2925897827978978040@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com>

On Tue, May 14, 2019 at 02:05:43PM -0700, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> Quoting Hsin-Yi Wang (2019-05-13 04:14:32)
> > On Mon, May 13, 2019 at 4:59 PM Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> wrote:
> > 
> > >
> > > This makes the fdt mapped without the call to meblock_reserve(fdt) which
> > > makes the fdt memory available for memblock allocations.
> > >
> > > Chances that is will be actually allocated are small, but you know, things
> > > happen.
> > >
> > > IMHO, instead of calling directly __fixmap_remap_fdt() it would be better
> > > to add pgprot parameter to fixmap_remap_fdt(). Then here and in kaslr.c it
> > > can be called with PAGE_KERNEL and below with PAGE_KERNEL_RO.
> > >
> > > There is no problem to call memblock_reserve() for the same area twice,
> > > it's essentially a NOP.
> > >
> > Thanks for the suggestion. Will update fixmap_remap_fdt() in next patch.
> > 
> > However, I tested on some arm64 platform, if we also call
> > memblock_reserve() in kaslr.c, would cause warning[1] when
> > memblock_reserve() is called again in setup_machine_fdt(). The warning
> > comes from https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/latest/source/mm/memblock.c#L601
> > ```
> > if (type->regions[0].size == 0) {
> >   WARN_ON(type->cnt != 1 || type->total_size);
> >   ...
> > ```
> > 
> > Call memblock_reserve() multiple times after setup_machine_fdt()
> > doesn't have such warning though.
> > 
> > I didn't trace the real reason causing this. But in this case, maybe
> > don't call memblock_reserve() in kaslr?
> > 
> 
> Why not just have fixmap_remap_fdt() that maps it as RW and reserves
> memblock once, and then call __fixmap_remap_fdt() with RO after
> early_init_dt_scan() or unflatten_device_tree() is called? Why the
> desire to call memblock_reserve() twice or even three times?

There's no desire to call memblock_reserve() twice. It's just that leaving
the call for it in kaslr rather than in setup_arch() may end up with
unreserved FDT because kaslr was disabled or even compiled out.

I've suggested to use fixmap_remap_fdt() everywhere because IMHO this
improves readability and allows to un-export __fixmap_remap_fdt().

-- 
Sincerely yours,
Mike.


  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-15  5:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-13  0:38 [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  0:38 ` [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  8:58   ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 11:14     ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-14 15:42       ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-15 10:24         ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-15 20:11           ` Ard Biesheuvel
2019-05-16 11:07             ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-14 21:05       ` Stephen Boyd
2019-05-15  5:00         ` Mike Rapoport [this message]
2019-05-15 10:34           ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  8:42 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 13:14 ` Rob Herring
2019-05-15  9:07   ` Hsin-Yi Wang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190515050059.GA4081@rapoport-lnx \
    --to=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).