LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
To: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>, Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Subject: [PATCH v4 1/3] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()
Date: Mon, 20 May 2019 00:04:44 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190519160446.320-1-hsinyi@chromium.org> (raw)

Currently in arm64, FDT is mapped to RO before it's passed to
early_init_dt_scan(). However, there might be some code that needs
to modify FDT during init. Map FDT to RW until unflatten DT.

Signed-off-by: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
---
change log v2->v4:
* v3 abandoned
* add an arg pgprot_t to fixmap_remap_fdt()
---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/mmu.h | 2 +-
 arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c    | 5 ++++-
 arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c          | 4 ++--
 3 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/mmu.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/mmu.h
index 67ef25d037ea..4499cb00ece7 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/mmu.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/mmu.h
@@ -137,7 +137,7 @@ extern void init_mem_pgprot(void);
 extern void create_pgd_mapping(struct mm_struct *mm, phys_addr_t phys,
 			       unsigned long virt, phys_addr_t size,
 			       pgprot_t prot, bool page_mappings_only);
-extern void *fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys);
+extern void *fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys, pgprot_t prot);
 extern void mark_linear_text_alias_ro(void);
 
 #define INIT_MM_CONTEXT(name)	\
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
index 413d566405d1..064df3de1d14 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/setup.c
@@ -181,7 +181,7 @@ static void __init smp_build_mpidr_hash(void)
 
 static void __init setup_machine_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys)
 {
-	void *dt_virt = fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys);
+	void *dt_virt = fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys, PAGE_KERNEL);
 	const char *name;
 
 	if (!dt_virt || !early_init_dt_scan(dt_virt)) {
@@ -320,6 +320,9 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
 	/* Parse the ACPI tables for possible boot-time configuration */
 	acpi_boot_table_init();
 
+	/* remap fdt to RO */
+	fixmap_remap_fdt(__fdt_pointer, PAGE_KERNEL_RO);
+
 	if (acpi_disabled)
 		unflatten_device_tree();
 
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
index a170c6369a68..29648e86f7e5 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
@@ -940,12 +940,12 @@ void *__init __fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys, int *size, pgprot_t prot)
 	return dt_virt;
 }
 
-void *__init fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys)
+void *__init fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys, pgprot_t prot)
 {
 	void *dt_virt;
 	int size;
 
-	dt_virt = __fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys, &size, PAGE_KERNEL_RO);
+	dt_virt = __fixmap_remap_fdt(dt_phys, &size, prot);
 	if (!dt_virt)
 		return NULL;
 
-- 
2.20.1


             reply	other threads:[~2019-05-19 17:09 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-19 16:04 Hsin-Yi Wang [this message]
2019-05-19 16:04 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-19 23:54   ` Nicolas Boichat
2019-05-21  4:09     ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-21 12:42       ` Nicolas Boichat
2019-05-19 16:04 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] arm64: kexec_file: add rng-seed support Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-19 23:57 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Nicolas Boichat
2019-05-24  0:04 ` Stephen Boyd
2019-05-25  9:30   ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-24 21:58 ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190519160446.320-1-hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --to=hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yaojun8558363@gmail.com \
    --cc=yuzhao@google.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 1/3] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).