LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
To: Atish Patra <atish.patra@wdc.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Andreas Schwab <schwab@suse.de>, Anup Patel <anup@brainfault.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>,
	Otto Sabart <ottosabart@seberm.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [RFT PATCH v4 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code.
Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 10:35:49 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190523093549.GA13560@e107155-lin> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190428002529.14229-4-atish.patra@wdc.com>

On Sat, Apr 27, 2019 at 05:25:27PM -0700, Atish Patra wrote:
> Both RISC-V & ARM64 are using cpu-map device tree to describe
> their cpu topology. It's better to move the relevant code to
> a common place instead of duplicate code.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Atish Patra <atish.patra@wdc.com>
> Tested-by: Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org>
> ---
>  arch/arm64/include/asm/topology.h |  23 ---
>  arch/arm64/kernel/topology.c      | 303 +-----------------------------
>  drivers/base/arch_topology.c      | 298 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
>  drivers/base/topology.c           |   1 +
>  include/linux/arch_topology.h     |  28 +++
>  5 files changed, 330 insertions(+), 323 deletions(-)
> 
> -void store_cpu_topology(unsigned int cpuid);
[...]


> diff --git a/drivers/base/arch_topology.c b/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> index edfcf8d982e4..2b0758c01cee 100644
> --- a/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> +++ b/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> @@ -6,8 +6,8 @@
>   * Written by: Juri Lelli, ARM Ltd.
>   */
>
> -#include <linux/acpi.h>
>  #include <linux/arch_topology.h>
> +#include <linux/acpi.h>

I assume this was to avoid compilation errors, when I rebased I got
conflict and I ordered them back alphabetically as before and hit the
compilation error.

The actual fix would be to include linux/arch_topology.h in linux/topology.h
as you are moving contents of asm/topology.h which it includes.

I did the change and get it tested by kbuild. See [1]

Regards,
Sudeep

[1] https://git.kernel.org/sudeep.holla/linux/h/cpu_topology

  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-23  9:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-04-28  0:25 [RFT PATCH v4 0/5] Unify CPU topology across ARM & RISC-V Atish Patra
2019-04-28  0:25 ` [RFT PATCH v4 1/5] Documentation: DT: arm: add support for sockets defining package boundaries Atish Patra
2019-04-28  0:25 ` [RFT PATCH v4 2/5] dt-binding: cpu-topology: Move cpu-map to a common binding Atish Patra
2019-04-28  0:25 ` [RFT PATCH v4 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code Atish Patra
2019-05-23  9:35   ` Sudeep Holla [this message]
2019-05-23 23:34     ` Atish Patra
2019-04-28  0:25 ` [RFT PATCH v4 4/5] arm: Use common cpu_topology structure and functions Atish Patra
2019-04-28  0:25 ` [RFT PATCH v4 5/5] RISC-V: Parse cpu topology during boot Atish Patra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190523093549.GA13560@e107155-lin \
    --to=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=anup@brainfault.org \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=atish.patra@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jeremy.linton@arm.com \
    --cc=jhugo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=morten.rasmussen@arm.com \
    --cc=ottosabart@seberm.com \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=schwab@suse.de \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFT PATCH v4 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).