LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
To: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	rcu@vger.kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH] rcu: Make 'rcu_assign_pointer(p, v)' of type 'typeof(p)'
Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 16:53:09 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190523145309.GA18692@andrea> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190523135013.GL28207@linux.ibm.com>

> > TBH, I'm not sure this is 'the right patch' (hence the RFC...): in
> > fact, I'm currently missing the motivations for allowing assignments
> > such as the "r0 = ..." assignment above in generic code.  (BTW, it's
> > not currently possible to use such assignments in litmus tests...)
> 
> Given that a quick (and perhaps error-prone) search of the uses of
> rcu_assign_pointer() in v5.1 didn't find a single use of the return
> value, let's please instead change the documentation and implementation
> to eliminate the return value.

Thanks for the confirmation, Paul; I'll prepare the new patch shortly...

  Andrea

      parent reply	other threads:[~2019-05-23 14:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-23 13:32 Andrea Parri
2019-05-23 13:50 ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-05-23 14:19   ` Mark Rutland
2019-05-23 14:54     ` Andrea Parri
2019-05-23 15:23     ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-05-23 14:53   ` Andrea Parri [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190523145309.GA18692@andrea \
    --to=andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=paulmck@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rcu@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH] rcu: Make '\''rcu_assign_pointer(p, v)'\'' of type '\''typeof(p)'\''' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).